Attica Locke is an American author of thriller novels. She has also written for film and television, having written for Paramount, Warner Bros., Disney, Twentieth Century Fox, Jerry Bruckheimer films, HBO, Dreamworks and Silver Pictures. Attica is a graduate of Northwestern University. She is originally from Houston, Texas, but now resides in Los Angeles, California with her husband and daughter.

Attica Locke made her debut as a published author in 2009 with the novel Black Water Rising. Below is a list of Attica Locke’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Attica Locke releases a new book at

Publication Order of Highway 59 Books

Bluebird, Bluebird (2017)Description / Buy at
Heaven, My Home (2019)Description / Buy at
Guide Me Home (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jay Porter Books

Black Water Rising (2009)Description / Buy at
Pleasantville (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Cutting Season (2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Attica Locke Books, You’ll Love…

Attica Locke Synopsis: Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke is the first book in the Highway 59 series. When it comes to the law, East Texas plays by its own rules – a fact that Darren Mathews, a black Texas Ranger, is well aware of. Deeply ambivalent about growing up black in the Lone Star State, he was the first in his family to get as far away from Texas as possible. It was duty that brought home; nothing more. When his allegiance to his roots puts his job in jeopardy, he travels up Highway 59 to the small town of Lark, where two murders – a black lawyer from Chicago and a local white woman – have caused plenty of resentment. Darren must solve the crimes – as well as save himself – before a race war erupts in the town of Lark.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Attica Locke Books

Leave a Reply