Ausma Zehanat Khan is a Canadian author of mystery and fantasy novels. She writes the Rachel Getty and Esa Khattak series. Ausma was born in the United Kingdom, grew up in Canada, and currently resides in the United States. Her background is even more complicated, involving three different continents. Ausma is a former adjunct professor at both Canadian and U.S. universities. She holds her Ph.D. in International Human Rights Law. Ausma counts Ngaio Marsh and Amin Maalouf among her influences.

Ausma Zehanat Khan made her debut as a published novelist in The Unquiet Dead. Below is a list of Ausma Zehanat Khan’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Ausma Zehanat Khan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Inaya Rahman Books

Blackwater Falls (2022)Description / Buy at
Blood Betrayal / Blackwater Betrayal (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Khorasan Archives Books

Publication Order of Rachel Getty & Esa Khattak Books

The Unquiet Dead (2014)Description / Buy at
The Language of Secrets (2016)Description / Buy at
A Death in Sarajevo (2017)Description / Buy at
Among the Ruins (2017)Description / Buy at
A Dangerous Crossing / No Place of Refuge (2018)Description / Buy at
A Deadly Divide (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Orca Origins Books

(with Jen Sookfong Lee)

Passover: Festival of Freedom (By: Monique Polak) (2016)Description / Buy at
Birthdays: Beyond Cake and Ice Cream (By: Nikki Tate) (2017)Description / Buy at
Chinese New Year: A Celebration for Everyone (By: Jen Sookfong Lee) (2017)Description / Buy at
Ramadan (2018)Description / Buy at
Christmas: From Solstice to Santa (By: Nikki Tate) (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ausma Zehanat Khan Books, You’ll Love…

Ausma Zehanat Khan Synopsis: The Unquiet Dead is the first Rachel Getty & Esa Khattak novel by Ausma Zehanat Khan Despite having several differences, Detective Rachel Getty trusts her boss, Esa Khattak, without a doubt. But she’s still uneasy at Khattak’s hardline secrecy when he asks her to look into Christopher Drayton’s death. Drayton’s apparently accidental fall from a cliff doesn’t appear to warrant a police investigation, particularly not from Rachel and Khattak’s team, which handles cases involving minorities. But when she learns that Drayton may have been living under an assumed name, Rachel begins to understand why Khattak is side-stepping this case. It soon comes to light that Drayton may have been a war criminal with ties to the Srebrenica massacre of 1995. If that’s true, any number of people might have had reason to help Drayton to his death, and a murder investigation could have far-reaching ripples throughout the community. But as Rachel and Khattak dig deeper into the life and death of Christopher Drayton, every question seems to lead only to more questions, with no easy answers. Had the specters of Srebrenica returned to haunt Drayton at the end, or had he been keeping secrets of an entirely different nature? Or, after all, did a man simply fall to his death from the Bluffs?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ausma Zehanat Khan Books

Leave a Reply