Barry Eisler
Barry Eisler is an American author of spy thriller novels. Unlike many authors, Eisler has worked for the CIA and has a lot of experience and knowledge which obviously helps his spy fiction and thriller novels. The two characters in the recurring series of books are assassin John Rain and Black Ops member Ben Treven.

Barry Eisler made his debut as a published author in 2002 with the novel Rain Fall (aka A Clean Kill in Tokyo). The novel began his John Rain series. Below is a list of Barry Eisler’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Barry Eisler releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Rain Books

Rain Fall / A Clean Kill in Tokyo (2003)Description / Buy at
Hard Rain / Blood from Blood / A Lonely Resurrection (2003)Description / Buy at
Rain Storm / Choke Point / Winner Take All (2004)Description / Buy at
Killing Rain / One Last Kill / Redemption Games (2005)Description / Buy at
The Last Assassin / Extremis (2006)Description / Buy at
Requiem For an Assassin / The Killer Ascendant (2007)Description / Buy at
Paris Is A Bitch (2011)Description / Buy at
The Detachment (2011)Description / Buy at
Graveyard of Memories (2014)Description / Buy at
Zero Sum (2017)Description / Buy at
The Killer Collective (2019)Description / Buy at
The Chaos Kind (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ben Treven Books

Publication Order of Livia Lone Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Be the Monkey (With: J.A. Konrath) (2011)Description / Buy at
The Ass Is A Poor Receptacle For The Head (2011)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Barry Eisler Books

The chronological order of both series of novels is the same as the publication order.

Notes: Rain Fall was also published under the title A Clean Kill in Tokyo. Hard Rain is also known as Blood from Blood and as A Lonely Resurrection. Rain Storm was also released as Choke Point and as Winner Take All. Killing Rain was also published as One Last Kill and as Redemption Games. The Last Assassin is also known as Extremis. Requiem for an Assassin was also titled The Killer Ascendant. The non-fiction book Be the Monkey was co-authored by J.A. Konrath.

If You Like Barry Eisler Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barry Eisler Books

3 Responses to “Order of Barry Eisler Books”

  1. CSC: 10 years ago

    I love these books but it is maddening that they have 2 or 3 different titles a piece. Ridiculous really.


    • Terry: 2 years ago

      I like to read series in order. I gave up on the Barry Eisler novels. Try Steve Barry’s Cotton Malone series. Good read and all of his books have, and have had, only one title.


  2. La Saundra Dyson: 11 years ago

    I’m surprised no one has commented. Well, let me tell you, I’ve only got 2 books left to read & I will be sharing all these titles soon as I finish! Thoroughly enjoyed each title!!! ( I read books that are series) Keep up the good work…oh, oh, I see some more titles I need to checkout!


Leave a Reply