John Rain by Barry Eisler
John Rain is the half-Japanese, half-American ex US Special Forces member, a fictional character created by ex-CIA employee Barry Eisler.

John Rain first debuted in the book Rain Fall and has spurred numerous sequels as a recurring main character, in the action thriller series. Below is a list of Barry Eisler’s John Rain books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Barry Eisler releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Rain Books

Rain Fall / A Clean Kill in Tokyo(2003)Description / Buy at
Hard Rain / Blood from Blood / A Lonely Resurrection(2003)Description / Buy at
Rain Storm / Choke Point / Winner Take All(2004)Description / Buy at
Killing Rain / One Last Kill / Redemption Games(2005)Description / Buy at
The Last Assassin / Extremis(2006)Description / Buy at
Requiem For an Assassin / The Killer Ascendant(2007)Description / Buy at
Paris Is A Bitch(2011)Description / Buy at
The Detachment(2011)Description / Buy at
Graveyard of Memories(2014)Description / Buy at
Zero Sum(2017)Description / Buy at
The Killer Collective(2019)Description / Buy at
The Chaos Kind(2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: Rain Fall was also released as A Clean Kill in Tokyo. Hard Rain was also released as Blood from Blood and as A Lonely Resurrection. Rain Storm was also published as Choke Point and as Winner Take All. Killing Rain is also known as One Last Kill and as Redemption Games. The Last Assassin was also published under the title of Extremis. Requiem for an Assassin is also known as The Killer Ascendant.

If You Like John Rain Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of John Rain Books

2 Responses to “Order of John Rain Books”

  1. ecj: 10 years ago

    Graveyard of Memories is Rain’s recollection of how his career started. It’s set completely in 1972. So I don’t think the chronological order is the same as the publication order..


    • jack burke: 3 years ago

      One would think that the reading of whatever books in whatever order would determine for you what you feel is the apparent timeline according to the writing of the story.


Leave a Reply