Mitch Rapp by Vince Flynn
Mitch Rapp is the creation of author Vince Flynn. Mitch is a counter-terrorist operator working for the CIA. Mitch first debuted in the 2000 book Transfer of Power, when terrorists take over the White House and attempt to capture the president. Mitch Rapp is sent in to make sure that doesn’t happen.

Due to Vince Flynn’s unfortunate passing, we have compiled a list of other books you will like if you liked Mitch Rapp.

Vince Flynn began his Mitch Rapp series in 1999 with the novel Transfer of Power. The series was taken over by Kyle Mills beginning with the novel The Survivor. Below is a list of Vince Flynn’s Mitch Rapp novels in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Mitch Rapp Books

Chronological Order of Mitch Rapp Books

American Assassin(2010)Description / Buy at
Kill Shot(2012)Description / Buy at
Transfer of Power(1999)Description / Buy at
The Third Option(2000)Description / Buy at
Separation of Power(2001)Description / Buy at
Executive Power(2003)Description / Buy at
Memorial Day(2004)Description / Buy at
Consent to Kill(2005)Description / Buy at
Act of Treason(2006)Description / Buy at
Protect and Defend(2007)Description / Buy at
Extreme Measures(2008)Description / Buy at
Pursuit of Honor(2009)Description / Buy at
The Last Man(2012)Description / Buy at
The Survivor(2015)Description / Buy at
Order to Kill(2016)Description / Buy at
Enemy of the State(2017)Description / Buy at
Red War(2018)Description / Buy at
Lethal Agent(2019)Description / Buy at
Total Power(2020)Description / Buy at
Enemy at the Gates(2021)Description / Buy at
Oath of Loyalty(2022)Description / Buy at
Code Red(2023)Description / Buy at
Capture or Kill(2024)Description / Buy at
Note: Vince Flynn also wrote the standalone novel Term Limits listed below however it takes place within the Rapp universe and should be read first if you are planning on reading it.

Chronological Order of Mitch Rapp Books

All the Mitch Rapp books take place in the order that they were published EXCEPT for American Assassin and Kill Shot. Written in 2010, American Assassin takes place with Mitch Rapp joining the CIA, and details his first missions. Kill Shot was written in 2012 and takes place after American Assassin, but before any of the other Rapp books.

It’s recommended that you read the books in publication order because you get the full effect of American Assassin having already known Mitch Rapp, and it’s a lot better book due to that.

Notes: While Mitch Rapp does not appear in it, the Vince Flynn book Term Limits, published in 1997, features various characters that will appear in future Mitch Rapp books. If you like the Mitch Rapp books, you will like Term Limits for sure.

As of The Survivor, the Mitch Rapp series is written by Kyle Mills based on the work of Flynn.

If You Like Mitch Rapp Books, You’ll Love…

  • Nick Stone: Nick Stone is a former SAS member who now works for “The Firm” aka the British deniable ops division, and is essentially the UK version of Mitch Rapp.
  • Jack Reacher: Jack Reacher is the ex-military cop lone hitch-hiker who travels all over the US, finding trouble wherever he goes. The Reacher series is an extremely popular set of books and Reacher is probably one of the only people that could kick Rapps ass!
  • Scot Harvath: Scot Harvath is a former navy seal and now secret service agent. If you like Mitch Rapp you’ll like these for sure.

Mitch Rapp Merchandise

Click to buy Mitch Rapp Merchandise

Buy Mitch Rapp t-shirts, Mitch Rapp underwear and tons more Mitch Rapp merchandise at Cafepress.

Mitch Rapp Synopsis: Transfer of Power by Vince Flynn is the first book in the Mitch Rapp series. In the heart of the bustling capital, the tranquility of the White House is abruptly shattered on a fateful morning. A ruthless band of terrorists storms the iconic residence, leaving chaos and carnage in their wake. The very heart of American power is seized, and a devastating toll is exacted upon those within its walls. As the president is hastily ushered to an underground sanctuary, the terrorists take scores of hostages, plunging the nation into a harrowing crisis.

Amidst the turmoil, a lone figure is dispatched to confront the nightmarish scenario head-on. Mitch Rapp, the preeminent operative of the CIA’s elite counterterrorism unit, is entrusted with wresting control from the terrorists’ grip. Rapp’s mission is clear: rescue the hostages, neutralize the threat, and restore order to the seat of American government.

However, as Rapp delves deeper into the volatile situation, he unearths a disquieting truth—the president’s supposed safe haven is not as secure as believed. Fueled by his unerring instincts and indomitable resolve, Rapp navigates the labyrinthine corridors of the White House, piecing together a puzzle that reveals a chilling reality: a malevolent force from within the highest echelons of his own government is intent on sabotaging his mission.

As the clock ticks relentlessly and the lives of innocent hostages hang in the balance, Rapp races against time to outwit the shadowy adversary working against him. With every step, he inches closer to uncovering a conspiracy that has the potential to rock the very foundations of Washington’s power structure. The stakes are immeasurable, the danger unprecedented, and the line between friend and foe becomes increasingly blurred.

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Mitch Rapp Books

5 Responses to “Order of Mitch Rapp Books”

  1. Ron: 6 years ago

    Also a good series…


  2. Lynn: 6 years ago

    Love the series…..right from the first book, Term Limits. My other favorite is Scott Harvath (Brad Thor). The Camel Club series from author David Baldacci is a GREAT series as well.


  3. Bill Pribyl: 7 years ago

    Great series, although it does tale off a bit with Flynn’s passing, sad but you can tell the difference between the 2 writers. I find Kyles 3 books a bit sterile compared to the creator Vince’s books. Following a formula and at least to me it shows. Still highly readable and not bad. Over all a highly recommended series if you like this genre.


    • Mitch: 4 years ago

      I agree……’s very noticeable between the two writers


    • OSWALDO REYES: 3 years ago

      Mitch Rapp is one of the greatest characters ever created. The best is yet to come. I have been a fan and follower of the series since Transfer Of Power. You can definitely feel the difference in writing style. But that doesn’t take the fact that Mitch Rapp will continue to surprise.


Leave a Reply