Bernard Knight is a Welsh author of historical mystery and crime fiction novels. He writes the Crowner John series, and contributes towards The Medieval Murderers series. Bernard worked as a Home Office pathologist for 40 years, performing over 25,000 autopsies.

Bernard Knight made his debut as a novelist in 1963 with the novel The Lately Deceased, writing as Bernard Picton. Below is a list of Bernard Knight’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Bernard Knight releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sixties Mysteries Books

The Thread of Evidence (2015)Description / Buy at
Mistress Murder (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Crowner John Mystery Books

The Sanctuary Seeker (1998)Description / Buy at
The Poisoned Chalice (1998)Description / Buy at
Crowner's Quest (1999)Description / Buy at
The Awful Secret (2000)Description / Buy at
The Tinner's Corpse (2001)Description / Buy at
The Grim Reaper (2002)Description / Buy at
Fear in the Forest (2003)Description / Buy at
The Witch Hunter (2004)Description / Buy at
Figure of Hate (2005)Description / Buy at
The Elixir of Death (2006)Description / Buy at
The Noble Outlaw (2007)Description / Buy at
The Manor of Death (2008)Description / Buy at
Crowner Royal (2009)Description / Buy at
A Plague of Heretics (2010)Description / Buy at
Crowner's Crusade (2012)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Crowner John Mystery Books

Crowner's Crusade(2012)Description / Buy at
The Sanctuary Seeker(1998)Description / Buy at
The Poisoned Chalice(1998)Description / Buy at
Crowner's Quest(1999)Description / Buy at
The Awful Secret(2000)Description / Buy at
The Tinner's Corpse(2001)Description / Buy at
The Grim Reaper(2002)Description / Buy at
Fear in the Forest(2003)Description / Buy at
The Witch Hunter(2004)Description / Buy at
Figure of Hate(2005)Description / Buy at
The Elixir of Death(2006)Description / Buy at
The Noble Outlaw(2007)Description / Buy at
The Manor of Death(2008)Description / Buy at
Crowner Royal(2009)Description / Buy at
A Plague of Heretics(2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dr. Richard Pryor Mystery Books

Where Death Delights (2010)Description / Buy at
According to the Evidence (2011)Description / Buy at
Grounds for Appeal (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tom Howden Serirs Books

Dead in the Dog (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Murder, Suicide Or Accident (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Medieval Murderers Books

The Tainted Relic (2005)Description / Buy at
Sword of Shame (2006)Description / Buy at
House of Shadows (2007)Description / Buy at
The Lost Prophecies (2008)Description / Buy at
King Arthur's Bones (2009)Description / Buy at
The Sacred Stone (2010)Description / Buy at
Hill of Bones (2011)Description / Buy at
The First Murder (2012)Description / Buy at
The False Virgin (2013)Description / Buy at
The Deadliest Sin (2014)Description / Buy at
The Medieval Murderers are a group of historical fiction authors that includes Bernard Knight, Ian Morson, Michael Jecks, Karen Maitland, Susanna Gregory, Philip Gooden and CJ Sansom.

Notes: The Sixties Mysteries series, the novels Tiger at Bay and The Expert, and the non-fiction book Murder, Suicide or Accident written as Bernard Picton.

If You Like Bernard Knight Books, You’ll Love…

Bernard Knight Synopsis: In The Lately Deceased by Bernard Knight (book 1 of the Sixties Mysteries series), when the wealthy Margaret Walker is found dead after a wild party, people assume it was an overdose – until a knife wound, almost invisible, is noticed on her body. But who would have wanted her dead? As the investigation progresses, it is discovered that some of the party guests may have wanted to kill Margaret… but were those motives enough to make someone a murderer – or was it a case of mistaken identity? The novel was written as Bernard Picton.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bernard Knight Books

Leave a Reply