Bill Beverly is an American author of crime fiction novels and non-fiction books. He grew up in Kalamazoo, Michigan, where he attended Kalamazoo Central High School. He attended post-secondary at Oberlin College and the University of Florida, where he earned his Ph.D in American literature. Currently, he teaches American literature and writing at Trinity University in Washington DC. Bill lives in Hyattsville, Maryland with his wife, poet/writer Deborah Ager.

Bill Beverly made his debut as an author in 2003 with the non-fiction book On the Lam. He would make his debut as a novelist in 2016 with Dodgers, which won the CWA Gold Dagger for best crime novel of the year. Below is a list of Bill Beverly’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Bill Beverly releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Old Flame(2012)Description / Buy at
Ten Year Stretch: Celebrating a Decade of Crime Fiction at Crimefest(2018)Description / Buy at
Invisible Blood(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: Old Flame was co-edited with John Poch and Deborah Ager. On the Lam was written as William Beverly.

If You Like Bill Beverly Books, You’ll Love…

Bill Beverly Synopsis: Dodgers by Bill Beverly is the story of a young LA gang member named East, who is sent by his uncle along with some other teenage boys – including East’s hothead younger brother – to kill a key witness hiding out in Wisconsin. The journey takes East out of a city he’s never left and into a part of the country that is entirely foreign to him, ultimately causing him to grapple with his place in the world and decide who he wants to be.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bill Beverly Books

Leave a Reply