Brenda Buchanan is an American author of mystery novels. She writes the Joe Gale series. Brenda grew up reading newspapers in a Central Massachusetts mill town. She got the journalism bug when at age 16 she co-wrote a piece about the disparity in spending on boys and girls sports at her high school. In doing so, she ruffled a few feathers, which was a great lesson for her early on. She later worked for the Boston Globe while studying at Northeastern University. Her next gig was as a reporter/columnist with the York County Coast Star in Maine prior to attending law school. Brenda now works as a lawyer during the day and writer at night. She lives near Portland, Maine with her spouse, Diane.

Brenda Buchanan made her debut as a novelist in 2015 with the novel Quick Pivot. Below is a list of Brenda Buchanan’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Brenda Buchanan releases a new book at

Publication Order of Joe Gale Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bloodroot: Best New England Crime Stories(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Brenda Buchanan Books, You’ll Love…

Brenda Buchanan Synopsis: Quick Pivot by Brenda Buchanan is the first book in the Joe Gale Mystery series. In 1968, a cunning thief skimmed a half a million dollars from the textile mill that was the beating heart of Riverside, Maine. Keen-eyed accountant George Desmond discovered the discrepancy, but was killed before he could report it. After stashing the body, the thief-turned-killer manipulated evidence to make it appear Desmond skipped town with the stolen money, ruining his good name forever.

In present day, veteran journalist Joe Gale is covering a story for the Portland Daily Chronicle when a skeleton falls at his feet: Desmond’s bones have been found in a basement crawl space at the long-shuttered mill. For Joe, digging into the past means retracing the steps his mentor Paulie Finnegan had taken years ago, when the case was still open. But the same people who bird-dogged Paulie four decades ago are watching Joe now. As he gets closer to the truth, his every move is being watched… and the murderer proves more than willing to kill again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Brenda Buchanan Books

Leave a Reply