Bryan Washington is an award winning author and journalist who published his first novel, Memorial: A Novel, was released in 2020. Washington was named as one of the National Book Award’s 5 Under 35.

Washington is also the author of the short story collection Lot which Barack Obama called one of his favorite books of the year. Bryan was the winner of the Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence as well as the Dylan Thomas Prize. His first book, Lot, won the New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award. In addition to his work as an author, Washington has written for The New Yorker, The New York Times, The New York Times Magazine, BuzzFeed, Bon Appétit, and GQ. Washington makes his home in Houston, Texas.

Get notified when Bryan Washington releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

The O. Henry Prize Stories 2019(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Bryan Washington Books, You’ll Love…

Memorial: A Novel is the story of two young guys living in Houston, Mike and Benson. Mike is a Japanese American chef working at a Mexican restaurant while Benson is a teacher at a black day care. The two have been together for a few years now and have reached the point where they are not sure why they are still a couple. Their life is uprooted when Mike finds out his estranged father is dying in Japan and he sets off to say goodbye. At the same time, his mother Mitsuko arrives in Texas for a visit. As Mike is in Japan, he learns the truth about his family and past, undergoing an extraordinary transformation. While Benson lives with his mother, the two end up meaning a lot to each other as Benson begins to realize what he wants out of life.

Lot: Stories is a collection of stories by Washington that vibrate with energy, wit, raw power, and the infinite longing of people searching for home.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Bryan Washington Books

Leave a Reply