Chris Bachelder is an American author of fiction. Chris was born in Minneapolis, but grew up in Virginia. He attended Virginia Tech and earned his BA there, and then earned his MFA at the University of Florida at Gainesville. Chris has taught fiction writing and literature classes at several different colleges and universities.

Chris Bachelder made his debut as a published novelist in 2001 with the novel Bear v. Shark. Below is a list of Chris Bachelder’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Chris Bachelder releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bear v. Shark (2001)Description / Buy at
U.S.! (2006)Description / Buy at
Abbott Awaits (2011)Description / Buy at
The Throwback Special (2015)Description / Buy at
Dayswork (With: Jennifer Habel) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

ESPN Quick Pitches: A Star-Studded Lineup of Original Sports Fiction(2011)Description / Buy at
Fakes: An Anthology of Pseudo-Interviews, Faux-Lectures, Quasi-Letters, "Found" Texts, and Other Fraudulent Artifacts(2012)Description / Buy at
Loosed Upon the World(2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Chris Bachelder Books, You’ll Love…

Chris Bachelder Synopsis: In Bear v. Shark by Chris Bachelder, Bear v. Shark II is set to take place in the soverign nation of Las Vegas. After a disappointing loss in the first computer-generated match-up, the bear is out for blood. With an essay entitled “Bear v. Shark: A Reason to Live,” young Curtis Norman wins a national contest and four tickets to the sold-out event. As the Normans head cross-country in their SUV, they encounter a dizzying barrage of voices weighing in on the upcoming spectacle – everyone from the Freudians, theologians, pundits, and self-published authors on the radio to the bear and shark fanatics, cultists, and resisters at pit stops along the way. Overwhelmed by factoids and ten-second debates, Mr. Norman grows ambivalent about the impending event and how the family just can’t seem to find a connection.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chris Bachelder Books

Leave a Reply