Chris Nickson is a British author of historical mystery novels and non-fiction books. He writes the Richard Nottingham and the D.I. Tom Harper series. Chris began writing while he was a young boy in Leeds. He soon realized he enjoyed it, as well as playing and writing music. He spent 30 years living in the United States, both playing in bands and writing, and has made a living writing since 1994. Much of his writing has been in the music journalism genre, which combines two of his passions. Chris moved back to the United Kingdom in 2005.

Chris Nickson made his debut as a published author in 1995 with the biography Mariah Carey: Her Story. His debut as a novelist came in 2010 with The Broken Token, beginning his Richard Nottingham series. Below is a list of Chris Nickson’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Chris Nickson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dan Markham Mystery Books

Dark Briggate Blues (2015)Description / Buy at
The New Eastgate Swing (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of John The Carpenter Mystery Books

The Crooked Spire (2013)Description / Buy at
The Saltergate Psalter (2016)Description / Buy at
The Holywell Dead (2018)Description / Buy at
The Anchoress of Chesterfield (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Laura Benton Books

Emerald City (2013)Description / Buy at
West Seattle Blues (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DI Tom Harper Books

Gods of Gold (2014)Description / Buy at
Two Bronze Pennies (2015)Description / Buy at
Skin Like Silver (2016)Description / Buy at
The Iron Water (2016)Description / Buy at
On Copper Street (2017)Description / Buy at
The Tin God (2018)Description / Buy at
The Leaden Heart (2019)Description / Buy at
The Molten City (2020)Description / Buy at
Brass Lives (2021)Description / Buy at
A Dark Steel Death (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Richard Nottingham Books

The Broken Token (2010)Description / Buy at
Cold Cruel Winter (2011)Description / Buy at
The Constant Lovers (2012)Description / Buy at
Come the Fear (2012)Description / Buy at
At the Dying of the Year (2013)Description / Buy at
Fair and Tender Ladies (2013)Description / Buy at
Convalescence (2013)Description / Buy at
Free from All Danger (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Simon Westow Books

The Hanging Psalm (2019)Description / Buy at
The Hocus Girl (2020)Description / Buy at
To the Dark (2021)Description / Buy at
The Blood Covenant (2022)Description / Buy at
The Scream of Sins (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of WPC Lottie Armstrong Mystery Books

Modern Crimes (2017)Description / Buy at
The Year of the Gun (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dead On Leave (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Leeds Story Cycle (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Criminal Tendencies(2009)Description / Buy at

Note: The Leeds Story Cycle was written with Daniel Ingram-Brown and Rommi Smith.

If You Like Chris Nickson Books, You’ll Love…

Chris Nickson Synopsis: The Broken Token by Chris Nickson is the first book in the Richard Nottingham series. Pickpockets, pimps and prostitutes are everyday work for Richard Nottingham – until work moves too close to home… When Richard Nottingham, Constable of Leeds, discovers his former housemaid murdered in a particularly sickening manner, his professional and personal lives become uncomfortably intertwined. Circumstances seem to conspire against him, and more murders follow. Soon the city fathers cast doubt on his capability, and he is forced to seek help from an unsavoury source. Not only does the murder investigation keep running into brick walls, and family problems offer an unwelcome distraction; he can’t even track down a thief who has been a thorn in his side for months. When answers start to emerge, Nottingham gets more than he bargains for…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Chris Nickson Books

Leave a Reply