Barbara Cleverly
Barbara Cleverly is an English novelist of historical mystery novels. She writes the Detective Joe Sandilands Mysteries series as well as the Laetitia Talbot Mysteries series. Barbara graduated from Durham University and then went onto a teaching career before becoming a writer. She won the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger award in 2004. Barbara lives in Cambridge, England.

Barbara Cleverly made her debut as a published author in 2001 with the novel The Last Kashmiri Rose, which was named as a New York Times Notable Book. Below is a list of Barbara Cleverly’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Barbara Cleverly releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective Joe Sandilands Books

The Last Kashmiri Rose (2001)Description / Buy at
Ragtime in Simla (2002)Description / Buy at
The Damascened Blade (2003)Description / Buy at
The Palace Tiger (2004)Description / Buy at
The Bee's Kiss (2005)Description / Buy at
Tug of War (2006)Description / Buy at
Folly du Jour (2007)Description / Buy at
Strange Images of Death (2010)Description / Buy at
The Blood Royal (2011)Description / Buy at
Not My Blood (2012)Description / Buy at
A Spider in the Cup (2013)Description / Buy at
Enter Pale Death (2014)Description / Buy at
Diana's Altar (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Detective John Redfyre Mystery Books

Fall of Angels (2018)Description / Buy at
Invitation to Die (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Laetitia Talbot Books

The Tomb of Zeus (2007)Description / Buy at
Bright Hair About the Bone (2008)Description / Buy at
A Darker God (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Ellie Hardwick Mysteries (2012)Description / Buy at
The New Cambridge Mysteries (2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Beverly Cleverly Books, You’ll Love…

Barbara Cleverly Synopsis: The Ellie Hardwick Mysteries by Barbara Cleverly is a collection of short stories about a young architect who works out of Suffolk, England. She regularly deals with the old houses, cathedrals, churches and castles of East Anglia, and sometimes she even comes across a body, a ghost or some sort of crime. Architecture and detective work have plenty in common, so Ellie ends up using the skills she’s developed in architecture in order to solve anciety mysteries. She gains an begrudging ally in Detective Inspector Richard Jennings.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Barbara Cleverly Books

Leave a Reply