Claire Douglas is an English author of psychological suspense novels. Prior to becoming a novelist, Claire worked as a journalist, where she wrote features for women’s magazines and newspapers. All the while, she never gave up the dream she had from the age of seven of becoming a novelist. After many attempts trying to get published, she finally got to live out her dream.

Claire Douglas made her debut as a novelist in 2015 with the novel The Sisters. The novel won the Marie Claire Debut Novel Award. Below is a list of Claire Douglas’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Claire Douglas releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sisters (2015)Description / Buy at
Local Girl Missing (2017)Description / Buy at
Last Seen Alive (2017)Description / Buy at
Do Not Disturb (2018)Description / Buy at
Then She Vanishes (2019)Description / Buy at
Just Like the Other Girls (2020)Description / Buy at
The Couple at No. 9 (2021)Description / Buy at
The Girls Who Disappeared (2022)Description / Buy at
The Woman Who Lied (2023)Description / Buy at
The Wrong Sister (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

If You Like Claire Douglas Books, You’ll Love…

Claire Douglas Synopsis: In Local Girl Missing by Claire Douglas, the once-beautiful old Victorian pier has been left to decay. It was where the youth of Oldcliffe-on-Sea would go to hang out. It’s also where twenty-one-year-old Sophie Collier disappeared eighteen years ago.

Frankie was Sophie’s best friend, and even now she is haunted by her disappearance. When Frankie gets a call from Sophie’s brother, Daniel, informing her that human remains have been found washed up nearby, she immediately wonders if it could be Sophie, and returns to her old hometown in search of closure. Now an editor at a local newspaper, Daniel believes that Sophie was terrified of someone and that her death was the result of foul play rather than “death by misadventure,” as the police claim.

Daniel arranges a holiday rental for Frankie that overlooks the pier where Sophie disappeared. In the middle of winter and out of season, Frankie feels isolated and unnerved, especially when she is out on the pier late one night and catches a glimpse of a woman who resembles Sophie. Is the pier really haunted, as they joked all those years ago? Could she really be seeing her friend’s ghost? And what actually happened to her best friend all those years ago?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Claire Douglas Books

Leave a Reply