Linwood Barclay is a U.S.-born Canadian author, who has risen in fame due to a variety of incredible standalone novels.

Barclay first started writing the “Zack Walker” series which spawned four books, however his real skills are shown in the series of books following that. Loosely connected in every form of the phrase, the Linwood Barclay series of standalone books capture you from the first chapter, and are fantastic fictional mysteries.

Seriously, read these books.

Get notified when Linwood Barclay releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Too Close to Home (2008)Description / Buy at
Fear the Worst (2009)Description / Buy at
Never Look Away (2010)Description / Buy at
Trust Your Eyes (2011)Description / Buy at
The Accident (2011)Description / Buy at
A Tap on the Window (2013)Description / Buy at
A Noise Downstairs (2018)Description / Buy at
Elevator Pitch (2019)Description / Buy at
Find You First (2021)Description / Buy at
Take Your Breath Away (2022)Description / Buy at
Look Both Ways (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lie Maker (2023)Description / Buy at
I Will Ruin You (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Promise Falls Books

Broken Promise (2015)Description / Buy at
Final Assignment (2015)Description / Buy at
Far From True (2016)Description / Buy at
The Twenty-Three (2016)Description / Buy at
Parting Shot (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of No Time For Goodbye Books

No Time for Goodbye (2007)Description / Buy at
No Safe House (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Zack Walker Books

Publication Order of Keisha Ceylon Books

Never Saw It Coming (2010)Description / Buy at
Clouded Vision (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Chase Books

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Pit Stop: Sean Reilly vs. Glen Garber (With: Raymond Khoury) (2015)Description / Buy at
Jacket Man (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Father Knows Zilch: A Guide for Dumbfounded Dads (1996)Description / Buy at
Mike Harris Made Me Eat My Dog (1998)Description / Buy at
This House is Nuts: Surviving the Absurdities of Everyday Life (1998)Description / Buy at
Last Resort : A Memoir (2000)Description / Buy at
Ford AbomiNation (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Suspense Magazine September 2012(2012)Description / Buy at
FaceOff(2014)Description / Buy at
Nothing Good Happens After Midnight(2020)Description / Buy at
Cold Canadian Crime(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Stone Rain was also published as Bad News. The short story Pit Stop is written with Raymond Khoury.

If You Like Linwood Barclay Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Linwood Barclay Books

16 Responses to “Order of Linwood Barclay Books”

  1. Phyllis Elaine de Lange: 4 months ago

    Have now read almost all of his books. Just can’t get enough. Terrific writer! Thanks!


  2. Rosie Smith: 5 months ago

    I’ve read several of your series. I love every book. Since I am on a fixed income (both widowed & retired), my books come as a library download. I wish that more of your books were on Kindle and/or audio version. My 2024 wish is that you provide more of your books on these types of media. I’ll be honest, I’m not sure if this a choice from your end or the libraries’ such as Libby? Thanks for supplying me with many, many lonely hours of enjoyment.
    PS… I don’t agree with you about not writing one more book after “Parting Shot”. Although it says that this book is not part of a series, I took it as it was??


  3. Betty S Wright: 2 years ago

    I just read my first linwood barclay.

    Will all your books have multiple characters all intertwined?


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Hi Betty,

      They all pretty much take place within the same universe. The Promise Falls series have the same characters throughout the books. The others just have little winks for the most part to previous books, or a small role for a recurring character etc. As a big fan of Linwood I’d personally read his standalone novels, Promise Falls series and No Time for Goodbye series in publication order as then you get to follow along with the happenings of the universe. It’s not completely necessary but I feel adds to the enjoyment somewhat 🙂


  4. Gary Maxwell: 3 years ago

    Read most of Linwood books …. Great

    Would recommend you try Peter James as well. He has the “ Inspector grace” series. But also some great standalone novels


  5. Steve: 7 years ago

    Linwood Barkley was born in Darien CT He is an American not Canadian; Just resides in Canada.


    • Brandon: 7 years ago

      He moved to Canada when he was 4. I would say that’s pretty Canadian. (I didn’t write this bio, but if I ever have much doubt, I usually leave out nationalities.)


  6. Brenda Bones: 7 years ago

    I just started reading Linwood Barclays books. I love how he intertwines characters to make the mystery more complex.


  7. angie 21: 7 years ago

    Have read all his stand alone novels and the Promise Falls trilogy. Cannot wait for them to be published quick enough.


  8. Caydence James: 8 years ago

    I think the town is called “Promise Falls”, not “Primrose Falls”. Is the name of the town different in books sold in Canada and England?


    • Graeme: 8 years ago

      Thanks Caydence it was a typo – fixed now 🙂


      • Caydence James: 8 years ago

        Oh cool! Thanks for the update! I was actually beginning to think that Mr Barclay had different versions in publication for different countries! You’ve just prevented a full on search for the other version! Lol!!!


  9. jan: 11 years ago

    I am reading linwood barclay’s “Trust your eyes” and find it very interesting how he can keep the story going with multiple character stories all involved in same mystery. Have to force myself to put it down and take a break..


    • DealerDan: 11 years ago

      Is that the first of his you have read?


  10. stevej666: 11 years ago

    This is out of date please update he has a new one coming next week


    • Caydence James: 8 years ago

      It’s not like someone is standing there “at the ready” with their whole life dedicated to updating this list. As you can see, this was updated soon after the book actually came out (which is smart because there’s a chance that a book could be pushed back). I know he’s a great author but it’s not reasonable to expect them to update something if it hasn’t happened yet. LOL!


Leave a Reply