Colin Forbes
Colin Forbes was the main pen name of British novelist Raymond Sawkins (1923-2006), who also used the pen names of Richard Raine, Jay Bernard and Harold English throughout his career. During his career, he wrote thriller novels (largely spy thrillers) and was best known for his Tweed & Co. series. Forbes started out working as a sub-editor for a publishing company before serving with the British Army in North Africa and the Middle East during the Second World War. When he went back to civilian life, he worked for a publishing and print company and eventually transitioned into becoming a novelist on a full-time basis. He died in 2006 of a heart attack.

Colin Forbes made his debut as a published author in 1966 using his real name of Raymond Sawkins for the novel Snow on High Ground. His debut under his preferred pen name (Colin Forbes) came in 1969 with Tramp in Armour. He would later refer to it as his debut novel, distancing himself from his earlier work. Below is a list of Colin Forbes’ books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Snow Books

(as Raymond Sawkins)

Snow on High Ground (1967)Description / Buy at
Snow in Paradise (1967)Description / Buy at
Snow Along the Border (1968)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of David Martini Books

Wreath for America (1967)Description / Buy at
Night of the Hawk (1968)Description / Buy at
Bombshell (1970)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tweed & Co. Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tramp in Armour (1969)Description / Buy at
The Heights of Zervos (1970)Description / Buy at
The Palermo Ambush (1972)Description / Buy at
Target Five (1973)Description / Buy at
Year of the Golden Ape (1974)Description / Buy at
The Stone Leopard (1975)Description / Buy at
Avalanche Express (1977)Description / Buy at
The Stockholm Syndicate (1981)Description / Buy at
The Leader and the Damned (1985)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Snow series was written under his real name of Raymond Sawkins. The David Martini series was written as Richard Raine. The Burning Fuse was written under the pen name of Jay Bernard. A Wreath for America was also published under the title of The Corder Index.

If You Like Colin Forbes Books, You’ll Love…

Colin Forbes Synopsis: Tramp in Armour by Colin Forbes is set during World War II. The German panzers have spread across Northern France and all that stands between the Germans and the coast is the British. Will one British tank from behind enemy lines be able to destroy the entire division of German tanks?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Colin Forbes Books

Leave a Reply