Curtis C. Chen (Photo Credit: Folly Blaine)
Curtis C. Chen is a Taiwanese-American author of science fiction and fantasy novels. He writes the Kangaroo series. Prior to becoming a novelist, Curtis was a Silicon Valley software engineer. His short stories have appeared in such publications as Playboy Magazine, Daily Science Fiction, Mission: Tomorrow, and Oregon Reads Aloud. He is a graduate of the Clarion West and Viable Paradise writers’ workshops. Curtis lives near Portland, Oregon.

Curtis C. Chen made his debut as a published author in 2016 with the novel Waypoint Kangaroo. The novel was a finalist for the 2017 Locus and Endeavour awards, respectively. Below is a list of Curtis C. Chen’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Curtis C. Chen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Kangaroo Books

Waypoint Kangaroo (2016)Description / Buy at
Kangaroo Too (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Ninth Step Station Books

(with Fran Wilde, Jacqueline Koyanagi)

The Loud Politician (By: Fran Wilde) (0)Description / Buy at
The Assassin's Nest (By: Fran Wilde) (0)Description / Buy at
The Bodiless Arm (By: Fran Wilde) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Thursday's Children: Flash Fiction from 512 Words or Fewer(2014)Description / Buy at
Leading Edge, Issue 65: Blue Glow(2014)Description / Buy at
SNAFU: An Anthology of Military Horror(2014)Description / Buy at
2016 Young Explorer's Adventure Guide(2015)Description / Buy at
Oregon Reads Aloud of 25 Children's Stories by Oregon Authors and Illustrators(2016)Description / Buy at
Infinite Stars(2019)Description / Buy at
Devil's Ways(2020)Description / Buy at
Ninth Step Murders: The Complete Season 1(2023)Description / Buy at
Ninth Step Murders: The Complete Season 2(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Curtis C. Chen Books, You’ll Love…

Curtis C. Chen Synopsis: Waypoint Kangaroo is the first Kangaroo novel by Curtis C. Chen. Kangaroo isn’t your typical spy. Sure, he has everything all the other spies have, including a ready supply of clever (to him) remarks. But what sets him apart is “the pocket.” It’s a portal that opens into an empty, seemingly infinite, parallel universe, and Kangaroo is the only person in the world who can access it. But he’s pretty sure the agency only keeps him around to exploit his superpower. After he bungles yet another mission, Kangaroo gets sent away on a mandatory “vacation” – an interplanetary cruise to Mars. While he tries to make the most of his exile, two passengers are found dead, and Kangaroo has to risk blowing his cover. It turns out he isn’t the only spy on the ship – and he’s just starting to unravel a massive conspiracy which threatens the entire Solar System. Now, Kangaroo has to stop a disaster which would shatter the delicate peace that’s existed between Earth and Mars ever since the brutal Martian Independence War. A new interplanetary conflict would be devastating for both sides. Millions of lives are at stake. Weren’t vacations supposed to be relaxing?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Curtis C. Chen Books

Leave a Reply