Cynthia Kadohata is an American author of YA and children’s novels. Cynthia is of Japanese descent, and writes coming-of-age stories involving Asian American women. She spent some of her time growing up in the South, and has set some of her novels there. Cynthia earned her B.A. in journalism from the University of Southern California. She also attended graduate programs at the University of Pittsburgh and Columbia University. She lives in Los Angeles, California with her boyfriend, son, and dogs.

Cynthia Kadohata made her debut as a novelist in 1989 with the novel The Floating World. Below is a list of Cynthia Kadohata’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Cynthia Kadohata releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Floating World (1989)Description / Buy at
In the Heart of the Valley of Love (1992)Description / Buy at
The Glass Mountains (1995)Description / Buy at
Kira-Kira (2004)Description / Buy at
Weedflower (2006)Description / Buy at
Cracker! (2007)Description / Buy at
Outside Beauty (2008)Description / Buy at
A Million Shades of Gray (2009)Description / Buy at
The Thing About Luck (2013)Description / Buy at
Half a World Away (2014)Description / Buy at
Checked (2018)Description / Buy at
A Place to Belong (2019)Description / Buy at
Saucy (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Charlie Chan is Dead: An Anthology of Contemporary Asian American Fiction(1993)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cynthia Kadohata Books, You’ll Love…

Cynthia Kadohata Synopsis: The Floating World by Cynthia Kadohata is a standalone novel. Olivia, and her Japanese-American family are constantly on the road, looking for a home in the 1950s. Then traveling becomes a kind of home, a place for her parents to work out their difficulties, in towns that barely linger in memory, hanging in the air among them as the part of a family history that reaches further back than they care to recall, but can’t help remembering…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cynthia Kadohata Books

Leave a Reply