Cynthia Kuhn is an American author best known for writing the Lila Maclean Academic Mystery series. In addition to writing her novels, Kuhn has also had her work publishing in publications like Mystery Most Edible, McSweeney’s Quarterly Concern, Literary Mama, Copper Nickel, Prick of the Spindle, and Mama PhD.

Cynthia is not only a writer, she also teaches it. She is the professor of English at Metropolitan State University of Denver where she teaches writing, literature, and film. She somehow still finds time to block with Chicks on the Case. Kuhn is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, International Thriller Writers, and the Short Mystery Fiction Society.

Get notified when Cynthia Kuhn releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lila Maclean Academic Mystery Books

The Semester of Our Discontent (2016)Description / Buy at
The Art of Vanishing (2017)Description / Buy at
The Spirit in Question (2018)Description / Buy at
The Subject of Malice (2019)Description / Buy at
The Study of Secrets (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Starlit Bookshop Mystery Books

How to Book a Murder (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Blue Ribbon (2019)Description / Buy at
There Comes a Time (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 14(2019)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic: Mystery Most Diabolical(2022)Description / Buy at
There Comes a Time(2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Cynthia Kuhn Books, You’ll Love…

The Semester of Our Discontent is the first book in the Lila Maclean Academy Mystery series. The book introduces us to the lead character as she is a working as an English professor at the prestigous Stonedale University. She is new at the job and just getting acclimated when she discovers one of her colleagues dead. Making matters worse, everyone from the detective to the chancellor things that Lila could be responsible for this crime. Instead of standing idly by, Lila uses her scholarly skills to investigate on her own behalf. Her investigation leads to a ominous secret society and she soon receives a threat in the form of a letter with the mysterious emblem. She’ll need to act quickly to avoid failing her assignment…and becoming the next victim.

One of the more popular books in the series is called The Study of Secrets. This book sees Lila spending her sabbatical in a Victorian mansion. She finds her way to the whimsical Callahan House which feels straight out of a mystery novel. That proves prescient when she discovers a body in the study and she’ll need to use her old skills to find out whodunit.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Cynthia Kuhn Books

Leave a Reply