Dan Fesperman is an American author and former journalist. His work as a journalist took him all over the world and even into three different war zones. One such trip sent him to the besieged city of Sarajevo and his experience there inspired the events of his first novel, Lie in the Dark.

Fesperman grew up in North Carolina and remained in state for college as he attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He would go on to works as a journalist and worked for the Fayetteville (N.C.) Times, Durham Morning Herald, Charlotte News, Miami Herald, The Sun and Evening Sun of Baltimore. It was while working for the Sun that he began being sent overseas to cover stories.

Get notified when Dan Fesperman releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Claire Saylor Books

Publication Order of Vlado Petric Books

Lie in the Dark (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Small Boat of Great Sorrows (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Warlord's Son (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Prisoner of Guantanamo (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Amateur Spy (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Arms Maker Of Berlin (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Layover in Dubai (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Double Game (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Unmanned (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Letter Writer (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Safe Houses (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cover Wife (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Stop the World: Snapshots from a Pandemic(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Dan Fesperman Books, You’ll Love…

Lie in the Dark sees a homicide detective named Vlado Petric in war-torn Sarajevo. He gets a body in the area known as “sniper alley” and finds that the body belongs to Esmir Vitas, chief of the Interior Ministry’s special police. It doesn’t take him long to deduce that he wasn’t actually taken out by a sniper, but actually shot at point blank range. This is a city filled with killers though so finding the culprit won’t be easy. As he investigates, he finds himself drawn into a conspiracy in the fragmented society and underworld of Sarajevo at war.

Another good book by Fesperman is Safe Houses. The book takes place in 1979 West Berlin where Helen Abell is overseeing the CIA’s network of safe houses. Her life gets complicated when she overhears a meeting between two people speaking a coded language that hints at shadowy realities. Then she witnesses another unauthorized encounter that puts her in the cross-hairs of the most dangerous man at the agency. She is not meant to have seen what she saw and it will put her in danger, and have repercussions that spread into the present day.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dan Fesperman Books

Leave a Reply