Deborah Zemke is an author and illustrator of children’s books. She writes the Bea Garcia series. She has also illustrated many picture books by other authors.

Deborah Zemke made her debut as an author in 1988 with the children’s book The Way It Happened. Below is a list of Deborah Zemke’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Deborah Zemke releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bea Garcia Books

My Life in Pictures (2016)Description / Buy at
The Curse of Einstein's Pencil (2017)Description / Buy at
Tale of a Scaredy-Dog (2018)Description / Buy at
The Tree and Me (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Way It Happened (1988)Description / Buy at
the Shadow of Matilda Hunt (1991)Description / Buy at
Don't Feed the Babysitter to Your Boa Constrictor (2006)Description / Buy at
Don't Bargain with the Tooth Fairy! (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

All I Want for Christmas (2008)Description / Buy at
My Furry Valentine (2009)Description / Buy at
How to Win Friends and Influence Creatures (2009)Description / Buy at
Wishes For You (2009)Description / Buy at

If You Like Deborah Zemke Books, You’ll Love…

Deborah Zemke Synopsis: My Life in Pictures is a chapter book by Deborah Zemke. Bea Garcia is an artist. She draws anywhere and everywhere – but mostly in her own notebook. When Bea’s first and only best friend Yvonne moves to Australia, not even drawing makes Bea feel better. And things only get worse when a loud, rambunctious boy moves in next door. He’s nothing at all like Yvonne! But with a little imagination and a whole lot of doodles, Bea Garcia might just make a new friend.

The Way It Happened by Deborah Zemke is the story of Sarah’s fall from her bicycle changes with humorous results as it is relayed from person to person.

Don’t Bargain With the Tooth Fairy is a children’s book by Deborah Zemke. At home, in school, and out in public, there are certain rules that every smart kid should follow. One would be to not leave any science experiment in the refrigerator for longer than six months. Another is to always tie your shoelaces – but not together.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Deborah Zemke Books

Leave a Reply