Diane Setterfield is an English author who burst onto the scene in 2006 with the release of The Thirteenth Tale. The book was an instant hit and sold over three million copies worldwide. That book was later adapted for television for BBC2.

Setterfield was born in Berkshire and grew up in the village of Theale. She later went on to the University of Bristol where she studied French Literature. After graduation, she would teach English at the Institut Universitaire de Technologie and the Ecole nationale supérieure de Chimie in France. Diane now makes her home in Oxford by the Thames.

Get notified when Diane Setterfield releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Thirteenth Tale (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bellman & Black (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Once Upon a River (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Princess and the Pea (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Diane Setterfield Books, You’ll Love…

The Thirteenth Tale follows a reclusive author named Vida Winter who has spent the past six decades writing alternate lives for herself. She is now older and is finally read to reveal the trugh about her life as well as the violent past that she has long fought to keep secret. She enlists a young biographer named Margaret Lea to help her with the task. The young writer is mesmerized by the story of gothic strangeness, featuring feral twins, a governess, a topiary garden, and a devastating fire. The two women will confront these ghosts that have haunted them and become transformed by the truth.

Once Upon a River takes place on a winter’s night in an ancient inn on the river Thames. The regulars are sharing stories when a wounded stranger enters with a small child in his arms. The young girl appears to be dead, but hours later she takes a breath and returns to life. It is puzzling and the people of the area are trying to solve that puzzle, but it only becomes more confusing as time goes on. Now, three families are keen to claim her and each family has their own mysteries and secrets.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Diane Setterfield Books

Leave a Reply