Dorothy St. James is the pen name of American author Dorothy McFalls, who writes cozy mystery novels under this name. She writes the Beloved Bookroom Mysteries series, the Southern Chocolate Shop Mysteries series, and the White House Gardener Mysteries series. Dorothy grew up in South Carolina. She studied Wildlife Biology (undergraduate) and Public Administration and Urban Planning (graduate degree). She went on to work in all branches and levels of government. Her time in government service and community planning made her into the writer she is today.

Dorothy St. James made her debut under this pseudonym in 2011 with the novel Flowerbed of State, beginning her White House Gardener Mysteries series. Below is a list of Dorothy St. James’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Dorothy St. James releases a new book at

Publication Order of Aloha Pete Mystery Books

Birds in Paradise (As: Dorothy McFalls) (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Beloved Bookroom Mystery Books

The Broken Spine (2021)Description / Buy at
A Perfect Bind (2022)Description / Buy at
A Book Club to Die for (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Raven's Run Romantic Mystery Books

Ms. Starr's Most Inconvenient Change of Heart (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Southern Chocolate Shop Mystery Books

Asking for Truffle (2017)Description / Buy at
Playing With Bonbon Fire (2018)Description / Buy at
In Cold Chocolate (2018)Description / Buy at
Bonbon with the Wind (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of White House Gardener Mystery Books

Flowerbed of State (2011)Description / Buy at
The Scarlet Pepper (2012)Description / Buy at
Oak and Dagger (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Dorothy St. James Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothy St. James Synopses: The Broken Spine by Dorothy St. James is the first book in the Beloved Bookroom Mysteries series. When the library where Trudell Becket works is transformed into a cutting-edge bookless library, she finds herself in a difficult situation. Trudell Becket is a book-lover. Trudell saves hundreds of beloved books from the recycling center in a rare act of rebellion. She opens a secret book room in the basement of the library to anyone who shares her enthusiasm for printed books.

Trudell is made the primary suspect by the police for the murder of the town councilman, who was a vocal advocate for the library’s transformation into a “futuristic technological center” when he is crushed by an overturned DVD shelf. The police believe that she was the only person in the library at the time of his death. But that is incorrect. Trudell had been allowing a few dozen residents to enter the building through the basement entrance for the past month so that they could read the printed books and check them out.

However, she would have to explain about the secret book room and run the risk of losing the books if she told the police about the backdoor patrons who were in the library at the time of the murder. Trudell, with the assistance of a group of devoted readers, makes the decision to conduct an investigation so that she can avoid being arrested for a crime she did not commit.

Ms. Starr’s Most Inconvenient Change of Heart is the first book in Dorothy St. James’ Raven’s Run Romantic Mysteries series. Samantha Starr is going to plan the most perfect wedding ever. But there is a problem. She must get a divorce from Logan Dalton, her childhood sweetheart and a man she thought had died, before the fashion-loving librarian can get married.

Logan, a security expert who used to be a spy, is working undercover to stop hackers from using a computer virus to attack computers around the world. Every step of the way, someone has been putting his mission at risk. He is determined to discover who is assisting the criminals on the inside. Sam, his former love interest, is the last thing he needs as a distraction.

Samantha is thrown into a world of danger and adventure when she finds Logan. Can she get the divorce she wants by walking away from the only man she has ever truly loved? Also, will they be able to decipher the mystery of their adversary’s identity in time to spare both the world and themselves?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothy St. James Books

Leave a Reply