Dot Hutchison is an American author who writes in the adult thriller and young adult genres. She is perhaps best known as the author of A Wounded Name, a young adult novel based on Shakespeare’s Hamlet, and the adult thriller The Butterfly Garden. The The Butterfly Garden is the first book in The Collector series of books.

Before her writing career, Hutchison worked at a Boy Scout camp, a craft store, a bookstore, and even the Renaissance Faire where she was a human combat chess piece. In her personal life, she enjoys thunderstorms, mythology, history, and re-watchable movies.

Get notified when Dot Hutchison releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Collector Books

The Butterfly Garden (2016)Description / Buy at
The Roses of May (2017)Description / Buy at
The Summer Children (2018)Description / Buy at
The Vanishing Season (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If You Like Dot Hutchison Books, You’ll Love…

The Butterfly Garden is an adult thrilling that starts with a disturbing garden near a mansion. The garden is filled with flowers and trees, and also young women who have been kidnapped. The women have each been tattooed with butterflies. The overseer of the garden is the Gardener, a brutal and twisted man. When the garden is discovered, FBI agents Victor Hanoverian and Brandon Eddison are put on the case. The book focuses on their interview with Maya who unfolds the story slowly with twists and turns. She reveals many horrific tales of the man, but the agents are left wondering what she’s hiding.

Another book by Hutchison is Deadly Waters. The book introduces us to a Florida journalism student named Rebecca and her hot-tempered roommater, Ellie. Her roommate is always getting in trouble and has threatened to kill me who prey on women on campus. That causes trouble when two male students are found dead, both with reputations as sexual predators. Ellie is a prime suspect here and everyone believes she is responsible, and that they shouldn’t stop her. Rebecca will have to use her skills taught in journalism classes to help figure it all out.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dot Hutchison Books

Leave a Reply