Doug Johnstone is a Scottish author of crime fiction novels. He writes the Skelfs series. Doug is also a musician and a journalist. He enjoys drinking malt whisky and playing football. Doug grew up in Arbroath, Scotland, and now lives in Edinburgh with his wife and two children.

Doug Johnstone made his debut as a novelist in 2006 with Tombstoning. Below is a list of Doug Johnstone’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Doug Johnstone releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Enceladons Trilogy Books

The Space Between Us (2023)Description / Buy at
The Collapsing Wave (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Skelfs Books

A Dark Matter (2019)Description / Buy at
The Big Chill (2020)Description / Buy at
The Great Silence (2022)Description / Buy at
Black Hearts (2022)Description / Buy at
The Opposite of Lonely (2023)Description / Buy at
Living is a Problem (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Doug Johnstone Books, You’ll Love…

Doug Johnstone Synopses: Tombstoning is a standalone novel by Doug Johnstone. avid Lindsay, a resident of Arbroath burdened by a dark past, finds himself entangled in a web of mystery and danger when his best friend tragically falls off a cliff under puzzling circumstances. Faced with the chilling aftermath and haunted by guilt, David makes a fateful decision—to flee from his hometown, leaving the incident behind.

Fifteen long years pass, and just as David believes he has successfully evaded his troubled past, a familiar face from his youth resurfaces. Nicola Cruickshank, the girl he had always admired from afar but lacked the courage to approach, reaches out to him with an urgent demand—he must return to Arbroath for a school reunion. Despite the dread that lingers within him, the pull of Nicola’s presence proves irresistible, and David finds himself returning to the very place he had vowed never to set foot in again.

However, Nicola’s intentions go beyond mere nostalgia. She seeks answers and demands closure for the unresolved secrets that have haunted their community. Unbeknownst to David, he becomes embroiled in a series of sinister events, as locals continue to meet their demise through a chilling practice known as ‘tombstoning’—a harrowing leap off the cliffs.

As David grapples with his lingering feelings for Nicola and the escalating danger that surrounds him, he is faced with a pivotal choice. Will he succumb to his ingrained instinct to flee once more, or will he summon the courage to confront the enigma that has plagued his life—the reason why death seems to follow in his wake?

The Jump by Doug Johnstone is a standalone title. Haunted by the heartbreaking loss of her own son, Ellie’s life takes a somber turn as she grapples with the aftermath of his suicide. Consumed by grief, she finds solace in the shadows of the Forth Road Bridge, seeking solace in its footpaths and finding solace in the waters beneath. Yet, it is on one fateful day that her path intersects with another troubled soul—Sam, a teenager on the brink of taking their own life.

In a moment of profound connection, Ellie manages to intervene, preventing Sam from making the same devastating decision her son did. It is through this act that Ellie glimpses the possibility of redemption, a chance to make amends for the loss she has endured. Driven by a desire to find purpose and to heal her own wounds, she becomes entangled in the lives of Sam and their troubled family.

However, as Ellie immerses herself deeper into their lives, she becomes entwined in a web of secrets that threaten to shatter the fragile stability she has found. Unbeknownst to her, the family harbors their own dark past and hidden struggles, presenting unforeseen challenges that test Ellie’s resolve.

With the best of intentions, Ellie is confronted with a situation she couldn’t have anticipated. As she unravels the complexities of this troubled family, she must confront her own demons and reconcile her quest for redemption with the harsh realities that surround her.

The Space Between Us is a standalone novel by Doug Johnstone. In the midst of their individual struggles, Lennox, Ava, and Heather are suddenly thrust into a world of mystery and inexplicable events. When a dazzling meteor streaks across the Edinburgh sky, the trio is struck down by devastating strokes, only to awaken the following day in the hospital, completely and miraculously healed.

As they grapple with the unexplainable nature of their recovery, rumors circulate about a peculiar creature, resembling an octopus, discovered on the nearby shore—an eerie connection to the meteor. Lennox, sensing an otherworldly force at play, embarks on a mission to save the creature they affectionately name ‘Sandy.’ With Ava, Heather, and the aid of journalist Ewan, they form an unlikely alliance and find themselves on the run.

Yet, they soon discover they are not alone in their pursuit of the extraterrestrial entity. Ava’s abusive husband, relentless police forces, and a secretive government unit are all hot on their heels, determined to capture Sandy at any cost. Unbeknownst to them, Sandy’s arrival on Earth holds implications far beyond their comprehension.

In this heart-pounding race against time, Lennox, Ava, Heather, and Ewan must navigate a treacherous landscape filled with danger and intrigue. As they strive to protect Sandy and understand the true nature of its presence, they uncover startling revelations that challenge their perception of reality and test the depths of their resilience.

Caught between those who wish to control the alien creature and the boundless possibilities it represents, Lennox and his newfound allies must make choices that will impact not only their own lives but the fate of humanity itself.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Doug Johnstone Books

Leave a Reply