Frances Brody is an English novelist who writes the 1920s-set series of crime novels featuring Kate Shackleton. The books have drawn comparison to Agatha Christie who definitely has to be considered an inspiration. The books have been praised for their accurate portrayal of what England was like after the war.

Frances Brody is actually a pen name for the author, whose real name is Frances McNeil. Her mother’s own stories were a big inspiration to her early writing as Sisters on Bread Street is based on an account of her mother’s life. Her mother was a big fan as well, constantly sending her plots that she hoped her daughter would turn into a book or a play.

Get notified when Frances Brody releases a new book at

Publication Order of Kate Shackleton Books

Dying in the Wool (2009)Description / Buy at
A Medal for Murder (2010)Description / Buy at
Murder in the Afternoon (2011)Description / Buy at
A Woman Unknown (2012)Description / Buy at
Murder on a Summer's Day (2013)Description / Buy at
Death of an Avid Reader (2014)Description / Buy at
A Death in the Dales (2015)Description / Buy at
Death at the Seaside (2016)Description / Buy at
Death in the Stars (2017)Description / Buy at
A Snapshot of Murder (2018)Description / Buy at
The Body on the Train (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder is in the Air / Death and the Brewery Queen (2020)Description / Buy at
Kate Shackleton's First Case (2022)Description / Buy at
A Mansion for Murder (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Brackerley Prison Mysteries Books

A Murder Inside (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Somewhere Behind the Morning (2005)Description / Buy at
Sixpence in Her Shoe (2006)Description / Buy at
Sisters of Fortune / Halfpenny Dreams (2008)Description / Buy at
Sisters on Bread Street (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cozy Case Files Mystery Sampler Books

Cozy Case Files Volume 1 (By: Cynthia Riggs,Mindy Quigley) (2017)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 2 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Hannah Dennison,Cate Conte,Diane Kelly,E.J. Copperman,Ellie Alexander,Cynthia Riggs,Susan C. Shea,Mindy Quigley) (2017)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 3 (By: M.C. Beaton,Donna Andrews,Ellie Alexander,Mindy Quigley) (2017)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 4 (With: Parnell Hall,Shari Randall,Ellen Hart,Ellie Alexander,Tessa Arlen,Vivien Chien,Julia Chapman,Paige Shelton,Jane K. Cleland,Mindy Quigley) (2018)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 5 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Carola Dunn,Sheila Connolly,Ellie Alexander,Susan C. Shea,Judith Flanders,Mindy Quigley,Auralee Wallace) (2018)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 6 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Cate Conte,Kylie Logan,Leonard Goldberg,Allison Montclair,Ellen Hart,Sheila Connolly,Mindy Quigley) (2019)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 7 (By: Donna Andrews,Diane Kelly,Ellen Crosby,Ellie Alexander,Vivien Chien,Ashley Weaver,Mindy Quigley) (2019)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 8 (By: M.C. Beaton,Diane Kelly,Vivien Chien,Paige Shelton,SusanCox,Elizabeth Penney,Mindy Quigley) (2020)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 9 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Hannah Dennison,Kylie Logan,Leonard Goldberg,Susanna Calkins,Allison Montclair,Ellie Alexander,Eve Calder,Mindy Quigley) (2020)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 10 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Cate Conte,Diane Kelly,Ellen Hart,Ellie Alexander,Vivien Chien,Jane K. Cleland,Ashley Weaver,SusanCox,Elizabeth Penney,Mindy Quigley) (2020)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 11 (By: Diane Kelly,Ellie Alexander,Vivien Chien,Paige Shelton,Mariah Fredericks,Elizabeth Penney,Mindy Quigley) (2021)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 12 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Hannah Dennison,Cate Conte,Kylie Logan,Leonard Goldberg,Allison Montclair,Sheila Connolly,Ellie Alexander,Ashley Weaver,S.C. Perkins,Eve Calder,Jess Dylan,Mindy Quigley,Meri Allen) (2021)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 13 (By: Mindy Quigley) (2021)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 14 (By: Diane Kelly,Gigi Pandian,Ellie Alexander,Paige Shelton,Mindy Quigley,Korina Moss) (2022)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 15 (By: Mindy Quigley) (2022)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 16 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Diane Kelly,Elizabeth Penney,Mindy Quigley,Korina Moss,M. C. Beaton) (2022)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files Volume 17 (By: Rhys Bowen,Diane Kelly,Gigi Pandian,Ellie Alexander,Paige Shelton,Jean-Luc Bannalec,Olivia Matthews,Olivia Blacke,Mindy Quigley,Clare Broyles,Korina Moss,Anastasia Hastings) (2023)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files, Volume 18 (By: Carolyn Haines,Donna Andrews,Leonard Goldberg,Allison Montclair,Vivien Chien,Olivia Matthews,Olivia Blacke,Mindy Quigley,Meri Allen,Katharine Schellman,Korina Moss) (2023)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files, Volume 19 (By: M.C. Beaton,Donna Andrews,Cate Conte,Diane Kelly,Ellie Alexander,Cynthia Riggs,R.W. Green,Elizabeth Penney,Korina Moss,Celeste Connally) (2023)Description / Buy at
Cozy Case Files, Volume 20 (By: Rhys Bowen,Gigi Pandian,Ellie Alexander,Paige Shelton,Olivia Matthews,Jennifer J. Chow,Olivia Blacke,Mindy Quigley,Clare Broyles,Anastasia Hastings) (2024)Description / Buy at
Anthology series.If author is listed on a book then this author wrote a story within that book.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Cozy Case Files Volume 4(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Frances Brody Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Kate Shackleton series is Dying in the Wool. The story begins when the Master of the Mill, Joshua goes missing under mysterious circumstances. Joshua’s daughter is getting married, but before she does she wants to look for her father one last time. Kate will enter the fold as she’s always liked solving puzzles and finding Joshua would be the greatest puzzle of all. Of course, once you go looking for secrets, you’ll often by surprised by what you find.

Death of an Avid Reader is another strong entry in the Shackleton series. This one centers on three mysteries: the search for a missing baby, a haunted library, and a killer on the loose. Kate is on the case of the missing baby, but is also asked to take part in an exorcism at the haunted library. She doesn’t believe in ghosts, but when the party turns up a dead body, she’ll have her work cut out for her. Especially when the man accused of doing it, Kate believes to be innocent.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Frances Brody Books

Leave a Reply