Frank Tallis is a British author of historical mystery and horror novels, and non-fiction books. He writes the Liebermann Papers series. Aside from being a novelist, Tallis is also a clinical psychologist. He has held lecturing posts in clinical psychology and neuroscience at the Institute of Psychiatry and King’s College, London. Frank has published over 30 scientific papers in international journals and has written a textbook on OCD.

Frank Tallis made his debut as a published author in 1990, with the non-fiction book How to Stop Worrying. He published his first novel in 1999, which was Killing Time. Below is a list of Frank Tallis’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Frank Tallis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liebermann Papers Books

A Death in Vienna / Mortal Mischief (2005)Description / Buy at
Vienna Blood (2006)Description / Buy at
Fatal Lies (2008)Description / Buy at
Darkness Rising / Vienna Secrets (2009)Description / Buy at
Vienna Twilight / Deadly Communion (2010)Description / Buy at
Death and the Maiden (2011)Description / Buy at
Mephisto Waltz (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Understanding Obsessions and Compulsions (1992)Description / Buy at
Coping with Schizophrenia (1994)Description / Buy at
Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (1995)Description / Buy at
Changing Minds (1998)Description / Buy at
How to Stop Worrying and Rediscover Life (2000)Description / Buy at
Hidden Minds (2001)Description / Buy at
Love Sick (2005)Description / Buy at
The Sheldon Short Guide to Worry and Anxiety (2015)Description / Buy at
The Incurable Romantic (2018)Description / Buy at
Mortal Secrets (2024)Description / Buy at

Notes: Mortal Mischief was also published as A Death in Vienna. Darkness Rising is also known as Vienna Secrets. Deadly Communion is also titled Vienna Twilight. The Forbidden, The Sleep Room, The Voices, and The Passenger were written as F.R. Tallis.

If You Like Frank Tallis Books, You’ll Love…

Frank Tallis Synopsis: The Sleep Room is a standalone title by F.R. Tallis. When promising young psychiatrist James Richardson is offered the job opportunity of a lifetime by the charismatic Dr. Hugh Maitland, he is thrilled. Setting off to take up his post at Wyldehope Hall in deepest Suffolk, Richardson doesn’t look back. One of his tasks is to manage Maitland’s most controversial project – a pioneering therapy in which extremely disturbed patients are kept asleep for months. If this radical and potentially dangerous procedure is successful, it could mean professional glory for both doctors.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Frank Tallis Books

Leave a Reply