Garrison Allen (1939-2012) was an American author of cozy mystery and thriller novels. He is best known for his Big Mike Mysteries series. Garrison also wrote thrillers as Gary Amo, and was nominated for an Edgar Award. He served as President of the SoCal chapter of the Mystery Writers of America.

Garrison Allen debuted as a novelist in 1990, writing as Gary Amo, with Come Nightfall. He made his debut as Garrison Allen in 1994 with Desert Cat. His final novel was Movie Cat in 1999. Below is a list of Garrison Allen’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of A Kate Gallagher Mystery Books

(as Gary Amo)

Publication Order of A Big Mike Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Silent Night (As: Gary Amo) (1991)Description / Buy at
Creeping Shadows (As: Gary Amo) (1992)Description / Buy at

Note: The Kate Gallagher mystery series as well as both of his standalone novels were written as Gary Amo.

If You Like Garrison Allen Books, You’ll Love…

Garrison Allen Synopses: Desert Cat is the first book in the Big Mike Mysteries series by Garrison Allen. Penelope Warren and Big Mike, the cat who runs the Mycroft & Co. bookstore, discover the dead body of Louise Fletcher on their doorstep, and they search for a cunning killer with nine lives.

Royal Cat is the second book in Garrison Allen’s Big Mike mystery series. Inheriting the title of Queen of the annual Elizabethan Festival in Empty Creek, Arizona, after her predecessor is murdered, bookstore owner and amateur sleuth Penelope Warren and her feline sidekick, “Big Mike,” set out to hunt down a killer.

Stable Cat is the third book in the Big Mike Mysteries series from author Garrison Allen. Feline sleuth “Big Mike” and his human companion, Penelope, the owner of a local mystery bookstore, sift through a bunch of baffling clues as they investigate the disappearance of a valuable stallion and the murder of his trainer.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Garrison Allen Books

Leave a Reply