George Mahood is an author best known for writing the DNF (or Did Not Finish) series of books. The non-fiction series covers Mahood’s misadventures in the world of running, cycling, and swimming.

Mahood is actually an award-winning author, but not how you might expect. He placed in third place in the village fete’s limerick competition for children under 11 in the year of 1988. As an adult, George has written numerous non-fiction books. He now makes his home in Devon where he lives with his wife and their children.

Get notified when George Mahood releases a new book at

Publication Order of DNF Books

Publication Order of Every Day Is a Holiday Books

Every Day Is a Holiday (2014)Description / Buy at
Life's a Beach (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Not Tonight, Josephine: A Road Trip Through Small-Town America (1988)Description / Buy at
Free Country: A Penniless Adventure the Length of Britain (2013)Description / Buy at
Operation Ironman: One Man's Four Month Journey from Hospital Bed to Ironman Triathlon (2015)Description / Buy at
Travels with Rachel: In Search of South America (2017)Description / Buy at
How Not to Get Married: A no-nonsense guide to weddings... from a photographer who has seen it ALL (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like George Mahood Books, You’ll Love…

Did Not Finish: Misadventures in Running, Cycling and Swimming is the first book the DNF series. The story picks up as George and his wife Racehl are settling into married life. The two decide to have a more active lifestyle with activities like camping, bike rides, hill walking, and canoe tips. However, things rarely go smoothly for them. George is always up for a challenge though and gives himself some ridiculous ones. He was a complete novice swimmer a year ago, but now he sets out to do a 10KM swim. He wonders how hard it could be and he’s about to find out.

Mahood is also the author of Not Tonight, Josephine: A Road Trip Through Small-Town America. This is another non-fiction tale as George and his friend Mark set off from New York City with the goal of seeing the back roads of America. They are living the ultimate cliche: to discover the real America. The two will have run-ins with police, dwindling finances, and struggles with the worst car in the world. The question isn’t just whether the two will make it to America. It’s also whether George is a complete idiot for doing this trip without his girlfriend.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of George Mahood Books

Leave a Reply