gervase-phinn (Photo Credit: Simon Miles)
Gervase Phinn is an English author of literary fiction, children’s and non-fiction books. After working as a teacher, Gervase became a school inspector and then Visiting Professor of Education at the University of Teesside. He has written various memoirs, poetry collections and multiple educational books. He is interested in children’s literature and literacy. He is married with four adult children.

Gervase Phinn made his debut in 1988 with the stageplay collection Stage Write. Below is a list of Gervase Phinn’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Gervase Phinn releases a new book at

Publication Order of Little Village School Books

The Little Village School (2011)Description / Buy at
Trouble at the Little Village School (2012)Description / Buy at
The School Inspector Calls! (2014)Description / Buy at
A Lesson in Love (2014)Description / Buy at
Secrets at the Little Village School (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Top of the Dale Books

The School at the Top of the Dale (2018)Description / Buy at
Tales Out of School (2020)Description / Buy at
A Class Act (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dominic's Discovery (1999)Description / Buy at
A Bit of a Hero (2009)Description / Buy at
At the Captain's Table (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

All These Lonely People (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Classroom Creatures (1996)Description / Buy at
I Gave My Love a Red, Red Nose (2001)Description / Buy at
It Takes One To Know One (2001)Description / Buy at
The Day Our Teacher Went Batty (2002)Description / Buy at
Don't Go Pet a Porcupine (2003)Description / Buy at
Poetry & Anthologies (2003)Description / Buy at
Family Phantoms (2003)Description / Buy at
What I Like! (2004)Description / Buy at
Don't Tell the Teacher (2006)Description / Buy at
Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Stars (2008)Description / Buy at
A Load of Old Tripe (2009)Description / Buy at
There's an Alien in the Classroom - and Other Poems (2010)Description / Buy at
The Virgin Mary's Got Nits (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Chapter Books

The Riotous Return of Royston Knapper (1989)Description / Buy at
What's the Matter, Royston Knapper? (1996)Description / Buy at
Bad Becky (2004)Description / Buy at
Bad Becky in Trouble (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Dales Non-Fiction Books

The Other Side of the Dale (1998)Description / Buy at
Over Hill and Dale (1999)Description / Buy at
Head Over Heels in the Dales (2001)Description / Buy at
Up and Down in the Dales (2004)Description / Buy at
The Heart of the Dales (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Best Days of Our Lives Books

Best Days of Our Lives (2020)Description / Buy at
Grandchildren (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Vital Resource (1993)Description / Buy at
Touches of Beauty (1995)Description / Buy at
Young Readers and Their Books (2000)Description / Buy at
Gervase Phinn's Yorkshire. (2003)Description / Buy at
Little Gems (2004)Description / Buy at
A Wayne in a Manger (2005)Description / Buy at
Little Angels (2006)Description / Buy at
Little Treasures (2007)Description / Buy at
All Our Yesterdays (2008)Description / Buy at
Teaching Poetry in the Primary Classroom (2009)Description / Buy at
Road to the Dales (2010)Description / Buy at
Out of the Woods But Not Over the Hill (2010)Description / Buy at
Mangled English (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Puffin Poetry Books

Quick, Let's Get Out of Here (By: Michael Rosen) (1983)Description / Buy at
Poets in hand (By: John Fuller,Elizabeth Jennings,Anne Harvey,Vernon Scannell,Charles Causley) (1985)Description / Buy at
Penguin Portable Poets (By: Brian Patten) (1990)Description / Buy at
You Wait Till I'm Older Than You! (By: Michael Rosen) (1996)Description / Buy at
Funky Chickens (By: Benjamin Zephaniah) (1996)Description / Buy at
Michael Rosen's Book of Very Silly Poems (By: Michael Rosen,Shoo Rayner) (1996)Description / Buy at
Wicked World! (By: Benjamin Zephaniah) (2000)Description / Buy at
Juggling with Gerbils (By: Brian Patten) (2000)Description / Buy at
Centrally Heated Knickers (By: Michael Rosen) (2000)Description / Buy at
Friendly Matches (By: Allan Ahlberg) (2001)Description / Buy at
The Day Our Teacher Went Batty (2002)Description / Buy at
The Bee's Knees (By: Roger McGough) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Monsters' Guide to Choosing a Pet (By: Roger McGough,Brian Patten) (2004)Description / Buy at
Poetry Pie (By: Roger McGough) (2015)Description / Buy at

Note: Mangled English was written with Matthew Phinn.

If You Like Gervase Phinn Books, You’ll Love…

Gervase Phinn Synopsis: Dominic’s Discovery is a standalone children’s novel by Gervase Phinn. Dominic’s middle name is trouble, but not because he’s got a troublesome nature, but quite simply because he’s ALWAYS in the wrong place at the wrong time. So it’s not surprising that he’s only allowed on the school trip to Thundercliff Bay – home to pirate legend, chilling ghost stories and lost treasure – by the skin of his teeth. Or that strict Mr. Risley-Newsome, who has his beady eye on him, makes him stay at the youth hostel for forgetting his walking boots. What is surprising is that a very special discovery made by Dominic saves the day when the whole class is in serious danger, and proves to everyone that sometimes he can be in the right place at the right time.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gervase Phinn Books

Leave a Reply