Marcia Willett
Marcia Willett is a British novelist of women’s fiction. Although she’s always been an avid reader, Marcia didn’t begin her writing career until she was 50. She writes in a manner that is easy to read, while still being thoughtful, where characters are strong enough to overcome adversity. She is the author of the Chadwick Family Chronicles.

Marcia Willett became a published author in 1995 with Thea’s Parrot (aka A Friend of the Family in the USA). Below is a list of Marcia Willett’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Chadwick Family Books

Looking Forward (1998) |
Holding on (1999) |
Winning Through (2000) |
The Prodigal Wife (2009) |

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Courtyard (1995) |
Those Who Serve / First Friends (1995) |
A Friend of the Family / Thea's Parrot (1995) |
The Dipper (1996) |
Amy Wingate's Journal (1996) |
Hattie's Mill (1997) |
Starting Over (1997) |
Second Time Around (1998) |
A Week in Winter (2001) |
A Summer in the Country (2002) |
Forgotten Laughter (2002) |
The Children's Hour (2003) |
The Birdcage (2004) |
The Golden Cup (2005) |
Memories Of The Storm (2005) |
Echoes of the Dance (2006) |
The Way We Were (2008) |
The Summer House (2010) |
Christmas in Cornwall / The Christmas Angel (2011) |
The Sea Garden (2012) |
Postcards from the Past (2013) |
Indian Summer (2014) |
Summer On The River (2015) |
The Songbird (2016) |
Seven Days in Summer (2017) |
Homecomings (2018) |
Reflections (2019) |
Facing the Music (2019) |
The Quick and the Dead (2019) |
Sisters Under the Skin (2019) |
The Garden House (2021) |

Notes: Thea’s Parrot was published as A Friend of the Family in the United States. Those Who Serve is also titled First Friends in the US. Forgotten Laughter is titled A Summer in the Country in the US. The Christmas Angel is known as Christmas in Cornwall in the US. The novels Amy Wingate’s Journal, Facing the Music, Sisters Under the Skin and The Quick and The Dead were written as Willa Marsh.

If You Like Marcia Willett Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Marcia Willett Books

6 Responses to “Order of Marcia Willett Books”

  1. Marie: 11 months ago

    Just started reading Marcia Willett.
    Is there another book following on from The Courtyard about Nethercombe


    • Graeme: 11 months ago

      Unfortunately not that I am aware of.


  2. Jillian cowan: 6 years ago

    I would like a list of which books involve Kate and Cass


    • Marilyn: 4 months ago

      Books featuring Kate and Cass are:

      First Friends/Those Who Serve
      Friend of the Family/Thea’s Parrot
      The Garden House

      Marcia is a very dear friend. I’ve been reading her books since A found a “A Week In Winter”
      in 2004. So glad you enjoy her work. Keep on reading.


  3. Anne James: 6 years ago

    I have read all but one of Marcia Willett’s books and enjoyed them all immensely. However, would like to know if she is contemplating a sequel to The Summer House as clearly there is the potential for another novel ?


  4. ev: 9 years ago

    Just completed the first book I have read by Marcia Willet. Christmas in Cornwall is a wonderful book full of real people with all of the good and not as good in them. A lot of warmth in this story without the author displaying the all too common neat of wrapping up each character’s personal story in a neat finished package. She left the ends of some of their stories to our imaginations. Enjoyed this book so much I went searching for more books written by her.


Leave a Reply