Graham Moore is an author and an Academy Award winning screenwriter. He wrote the screenplay for The Imitation Game starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Keira Knightley. That screenplay ended up winning both the Academy Award and WGA Award for Best Adapted Screenplay in 2015. As an author, he is best known for writing books like The Sherlockian and The Holdout.

Moore was born in Chicago, Illinois to two lawyers with his mother being the former First Lady Michelle Obama’s chief of staff. He attended Chicago’s University of Chicago Laboratory Schools before heading to Columbia University where he earned his bachelor’s degree. Moore then got his start in Hollwyood and one of his earliest jobs was on the writing staff of the short-lived television series 10 Things I Hate About You in 2009. He released his first novel, The Sherlockian, in 2010.

Get notified when Graham Moore releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sherlockian (2010)Description / Buy at
The Last Days of Night (2016)Description / Buy at
The Holdout / Mortal Coil (2020)Description / Buy at
The Wealth of Shadows / The Numbers Man (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Graham Moore Books, You’ll Love…

The Sherlockian is a tale that takes place during the time of Sherlock Holmes and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle as well as in the present day. In the past, the story is of when Conan Doyle made the decision to murder Holmes in the book before abruptly bringing him back. There was long rumored to be a missing journal explaining why, but it has been missing for a long time. In the present day, literary researcher Harold White is inducted into The Baker Street Irregulars and put on the case of the long missing diary. When another Doylean scholar is found murdered, Harold will use the tactics of deduction he’s learned from reading to solve the case.

Moore also wrote The Holdout which follows a sensational case of a 15-year-old daughter of a billionaire who goes missing and the teacher who is the prime suspect. A young juror named Maya helped to convince the jury that the man was innocent and he was set free. Now, ten years later and Maya is a defense attorney herself. Another one of the former jurors has turned up dead and she is the prime suspect.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Graham Moore Books

Leave a Reply