Gregory Mcdonald (1937-2008) was an American author of mystery novels. Mcdonald was best known for his Fletch series, which won Edgar Awards and were adapted into the Fletch series starring Chevy Chase. The Fletch series also spawned two spin-off series: Flynn (featuring Inspector Francis Xavier Flynn) and Son of Fletch (Jack Faoni, Fletch’s illegitimate son). Mcdonald worked as a teacher and journalist for the Boston Globe before becoming a full-time novelist. He died of prostate cancer in 2008.

Gregory Mcdonald made his debut as an author in 1964 with the novel Running Scared. Below is a list of Gregory Mcdonald’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Fletch Books

Fletch (1974)Description / Buy at
Confess, Fletch (1976)Description / Buy at
Fletch's Fortune (1978)Description / Buy at
Fletch and the Widow Bradley (1980)Description / Buy at
Fletch's Moxie (1981)Description / Buy at
Fletch and the Man Who (1983)Description / Buy at
Carioca Fletch (1984)Description / Buy at
Fletch Won (1985)Description / Buy at
Fletch, Too (1986)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Fletch Books

Fletch Won(1985)Description / Buy at
Fletch, Too(1986)Description / Buy at
Fletch and the Widow Bradley(1980)Description / Buy at
Fletch(1974)Description / Buy at
Carioca Fletch(1984)Description / Buy at
Confess, Fletch(1976)Description / Buy at
Fletch's Fortune(1978)Description / Buy at
Fletch's Moxie(1981)Description / Buy at
Fletch and the Man Who(1983)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Flynn Books

Publication Order of Son of Fletch Books

Son of Fletch (1993)Description / Buy at
Fletch Reflected (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Skylar Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Running Scared (1964)Description / Buy at
Love Among the Mashed Potatoes (1978)Description / Buy at
Who Took Toby Rinaldi? / Snatched / Snatch (1980)Description / Buy at
Safekeeping (1985)Description / Buy at
A World Too Wide (1987)Description / Buy at
Exits and Entrances (1988)Description / Buy at
Merely Players (1988)Description / Buy at
The Brave (1991)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Education of Gregory McDonald: Writings About America, 1966-1973 (1985)Description / Buy at
Souvenirs of a Blown World: Sketches for the Sixties, Writings about America, 1966-1973 (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Last Laughs: The 1986 Mystery Writers of America Anthology(1986)Description / Buy at
The Crown Crime Companion(1995)Description / Buy at

Note: Who Took Toby Rinaldi was also published as Snatched.

If You Like Gregory Mcdonald Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gregory Mcdonald Books

Leave a Reply