Harper Lee
Harper Lee (1926-2016) was an American novelist of Southern Gothic fiction. She is best known for her classic novel To Kill a Mockingbird, which won the Pulitzer Prize. Harper used the observations she made living in the Deep South in the 1930s as the basis of the novel. Harper (who goes by her given name of Nelle) was born in Monroeville, Alabama and was the daughter of a former newspaper editor/lawyer. Nelle was a tomboy who enjoyed reading and was a close friend of Truman Capote. After living life frugally, she was gifted a year’s wages in order to pursue her dream of writing.

For a long time, the only novel Harper Lee had ever published was 1960’s To Kill a Mockingbird. This ended in 2015 with the publication of Go Set a Watchman, which was written in the mid-1950s. Below is a list of Harper Lee’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of To Kill a Mockingbird Books

To Kill a Mockingbird (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Go Set a Watchman (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Harper Lee Omnibus Books

The Harper Lee Collection (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Harper Lee Books, You’ll Love…

Harper Lee Synopsis: The Harper Lee Collection is a slipcased edition of the novels To Kill a Mockingbird and Go Set a Watchman. The novels are set in Maycomb, Alabama. Both novels offer a haunting portrait of race and class, innocence and injustice, hypocrisy and heroism, tradition and transformation in the Deep South of the 1930s and 1950s that resonates today.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Harper Lee Books

Leave a Reply