Helen MacInnes (Photo Credit: Hans Namuth)
Helen MacInnes (1907-1985) was a Scottish-American novelist of spy fiction. She has been referred to as the “Queen of Spy Writers” by the Sunday Express. Originally from Glasgow, MacInnes graduated from the University of Glasgow in 1928 with a degree in French and German. Following earning her M.A., she moved to University College, London and earned her librarianship diploma in 1931. It was working as a librarian where she met her husband, Gilbert Hughet. Together, they would translate German literature in order to pay for summer trips throughout Europe. These trips gave MacInnes the settings for her spy thriller novels that should would write later in life.

Helen MacInnes became a published author in 1941 with the novel Above Suspicion. The novel was adapted to film in 1943, starring Joan Crawford, Fred MacMurray and Basil Rathbone. Other novels of MacInnes’ that were made into movies include Assignment in Brittany, The Venetian Affair and The Salzburg Connection. Below is a list of Helen MacInnes’ books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Robert Renwick Books

Prelude to Terror (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hidden Target (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cloak of Darkness (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Above Suspicion (1939)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Assignment in Brittany (1942)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Unconquerable / While Still We Live (1944)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Horizon (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Friends and Lovers (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rest and Be Thankful (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Neither Five Nor Three (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I and My True Love (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Pray for a Brave Heart (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
North from Rome (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Decision at Delphi (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Venetian Affair (1963)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Double Image (1966)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Salzburg Connection (1968)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Message from Malaga (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Snare of the Hunter (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Agent in Place (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ride a Pale Horse (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Plays

Home is the Hunter (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Unconquerable was re-published as While Still We Live. Horizon was co-authored by Ruth Reichl.

If You Like Helen MacInnes Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Helen MacInnes Books

6 Responses to “Order of Helen MacInnes Books”

  1. Dee Johnson: 6 months ago

    Characters from Above Suspicion appear years later in The Salzburg Connection.


  2. Joyce: 5 years ago

    Even though they list the above books as standalone, they seem to have threads that intertwine from one to the next. You might never pick up on that unless you read them in order. The order from chronological listings in the WWII series of books I have, place “While Still We Live” as third in the order. “Above Suspicion” starts the ball rolling then in “Assignment in Brittany” there is a reappearance of one of the characters from “Above Suspicion” and again in “While Still We Live. I have not finished Horizon which is fourth in the list but I am waiting with anticipation as I am making my way through it to see what character reappears. I have not looked at other online listings to see how they have them listed, but the list on this sight is chronological by year written but does not line up otherwise according to what is listed in the actual books that I have.


  3. Sandra Perskie: 6 years ago

    I can’t find “While Still We Live” on any Helen MacInnes book list. I own the 1965 paperback copy which is listed as 75c on the cover, first printed in 1944. It makes me wonder if there are any other of her published books that are not listed on any book list!


    • Graeme: 6 years ago

      Its just an alternative name to The Unconquerable. Both the same book and on our list above.


  4. Polly Donlan: 7 years ago

    does anyone know the name of the book that follows Prelude To Terror, where April and ? are reunited ? ( He is now the Curator of an art museum in the USA )


    • Penny Cornett: 7 years ago

      The Hidden Target is the next in the Renwick series, but I haven’t read it yet so I don’t know about Colin and Avril.


Leave a Reply