Mary Stewart
Mary Stewart (1916-2014) was an English novelist of historical fiction, fantasy, mystery and romance novels. Mary is considered one of the founding authors of the romantic suspense sub-genre, seamlessly blending the romance and mystery/suspense genres. Her novels are set in various locations, including England, Damascus, the Greek Islands, Spain, France, Austria and more. She is best known for her Arthurian Saga novels.

Mary Stewart became a published author in 1954 with the standalone novel Madam, Will You Talk?. She is currently semi-retired, with her most recent novel being 1997’s Rose Cottage. Below is a list of Mary Stewart’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Arthurian Saga Books

The Crystal Cave (1970)Description / Buy at
The Hollow Hills (1973)Description / Buy at
The Last Enchantment (1979)Description / Buy at
The Wicked Day (1983)Description / Buy at
The Prince and the Pilgrim (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Madam, Will You Talk? (1954)Description / Buy at
Wildfire at Midnight (1956)Description / Buy at
Thunder on the Right (1957)Description / Buy at
Nine Coaches Waiting (1958)Description / Buy at
My Brother Michael (1959)Description / Buy at
The Ivy Tree (1961)Description / Buy at
The Moon-Spinners (1962)Description / Buy at
This Rough Magic (1964)Description / Buy at
Airs Above the Ground (1965)Description / Buy at
The Gabriel Hounds (1967)Description / Buy at
Touch Not the Cat (1976)Description / Buy at
Thornyhold (1988)Description / Buy at
Stormy Petrel (1991)Description / Buy at
Rose Cottage (1997)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Little Broomstick (1971)Description / Buy at
Ludo and the Star Horse (1974)Description / Buy at
A Walk in Wolf Wood (1980)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Frost on the Window and Other Poems (1990)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Wind Off the Small Isles (1968)Description / Buy at
The Wind Off the Small Isles and The Lost One (2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Stewart Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Stewart Synopses: Frost on the Window and Other Poems is a collection of poems by Mary Stewart. The poetry revolves around classical locations, myths, magic, nature and wildlife.

Madam, Will You Talk? is the debut novel by Mary Stewart. Charity is looking forward to her vacation driving across France with her friend, Louise. But unfortunately for her, it turns sour when she finds herself in the middle of a gang of murderers – one of which she is falling in love with.

Thunder on the Right is a standalone novel by Mary Stewart. Jennifer Silver is an artist who has found herself to the Valley of the Storms in the French Pyrenees to meet with her cousin, who is about to enter a convent. When she gets there, she finds out her cousin has died in a car accident… or did she really? In a world full of lies, seeking the truth can mean death for Jennifer.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Stewart Books

Leave a Reply