Helen Oyeyemi
Helen Oyeyemi is a British novelist of general fiction and fantasy novels. She wrote her first novel while studying for her A-levels at high school. She studied social and political sciences at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge University. During this time, she had two of her plays performed by students (and received critical acclaim). Her novel White is for Witching won the 2010 Somerset Maugham Award, and her novel What is Not Yours is Not Yours won a PEN Open Book Award, among other awards and accomplishments. Helen lives in Prague, Czech Republic.

Helen Oyeyemi made her debut as a published author in 2005 with The Icarus Girl. Below is a list of Helen Oyeyemi’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Helen Oyeyemi releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Icarus Girl (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Opposite House (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
White is for Witching (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mr. Fox (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Boy, Snow, Bird (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Gingerbread (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Peaces (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Parasol Against the Axe (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Juniper's Whitening / Victimese (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

The BBC National Short Story Award 2010(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
One for the Trouble: Book Slam Volume 1(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Furies(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Cage Went in Search of a Bird: Ten Kafkaesque Stories(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: The BBC National Short Story Award 2010 also includes stories by David Constantine, Aminatta Forna, Sarah Hall and Jon McGregor.

If You Like Helen Oyeyemi Books, You’ll Love…

Helen Oyeyemi Synopsis: The Icarus Girl is a standalone title by Helen Oyeyemi. Jessamy Harrison is eight years old. Sensitive, whimsical, possessed of a powerful imagination, she spends hours writing, reading or simply hiding in the dark warmth of the airing cupboard. As the half-and-half child of an English father and a Nigerian mother, Jess just can’t shake off the feeling of being alone wherever she goes, and other kids are wary of her terrified fits of screaming. When she is taken to her mother’s family compound in Nigeria, she encounters Titiola, a ragged little girl her own age. It seems that at last Jess has found someone who will understand her. TillyTilly knows secrets both big and small. But as she shows Jess just how easy it is to hurt those around her, Jess begins to realise that she doesn’t know who TillyTilly is at all.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Helen Oyeyemi Books

Leave a Reply