Ilana Masad is an Israeli-American author, essayist and book critic. She identifies as queer. Her work has appeared in the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, Paris Review, NPR, BuzzFeed, Catapult, StoryQuarterly, McSweeney’s Internet Tendency, and more. She hosts a podcast on fiction writers called The Other Stories. Ilana is currently studying for her doctorate at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and serves as the assistant nonfiction editor for their Prairie Schooner quarterly magazine.

Ilana Masad made her debut as a published author in 2020 with the novel All My Mother’s Lovers. Below is a list of Ilana Masad’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Ilana Masad releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

All My Mother's Lovers (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

After the Fall - Tales of the Apocalypse(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Ilana Masad Books, You’ll Love…

Ilana Masad Synopsis: All My Mother’s Lovers is a standalone novel by Ilana Masad. 27-year-old Maggie Krause is a stranger to intimacy – despite being brought up by married parents, models of domestic bliss – until, that is, Lucia came into her life. But when Maggie’s mother, Iris, dies in a car accident, Maggie returns home only to discover a withdrawn dad, an angry brother, and, along with Iris’s will, five sealed envelopes, each one addressed to a mysterious man she’s never heard of.

In an effort to run from her own grief and discover the truth about Iris – who made no secret of her discomfort with her daughter’s sexuality – Maggie heads off on a road trip, determined to hand-deliver the letters and find out what these men meant to her mother. Maggie quickly discovers Iris’s second, hidden life, which shatters everything Maggie thought she knew about her parents’ perfect relationship. What is she supposed to tell her father and brother? And how can she deal with her own relationship when her whole world is in freefall?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ilana Masad Books

Leave a Reply