James Carroll is an American author and Roman Catholic priest. That latter career has influenced his writing in a lot of ways and he’s often drawn on his experiences in that career. He has written many fiction books as well as the non-fiction book, The Truth at the Heart of the Lie: How the Catholic Church Lost Its Soul.

Carroll was born as the son of an Air Force general and he spend his childhood between Germany and Washington, DC. He would go on to attend Georgetown University where he earned his Bachelor’s degree and then moved on to St. Paul’s College where he earned his Master’s degree. He would also attend Paulist Father’s Seminary where he got his priest training. Carroll may be best known for writing An American Requiem which won him the National Book Award.

Get notified when James Carroll releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

An American Requiem (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Constantine's Sword (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Toward a New Catholic Church (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crusade (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
House of War (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Practicing Catholic (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Jerusalem, Jerusalem (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Christ Actually (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Village Vets (With: Anthony Bennett) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Calving Straps and Zombie Cats (With: Anthony Bennett) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Truth at the Heart of the Lie (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ploughshares Fall 1989(1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Post-Holocaust Jewish–Christian Dialogue: After the Flood, before the Rainbow(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like James Carroll Books, You’ll Love…

Warburg in Rome sees the new director of the US War Refugee Board, David Warburg, arriving in Rome at the war’s end. He is here with the intention of bringing aid to the destitute European Jews that are now streaming into the city. The city is a labyrinth of desperate fugitives with Jewish resisters, Nazis, and criminal Church figures among them. Here, Warburg discovers a great scandal in the form of the Vatican ratline: an escape route maintained by church officials to help Nazis escape. He turns to US Intelligence for help, but quickly learns that this secret isn’t so secret.

Carroll is also the author of The Cloister. The story sees Father Michael Kavanagh deciding to reconsider the past when he meets up with Rachel Vedette. She is a Holocaust survivor who escaped to America and is obsessed with her late father’s achievements, specifically the famously discredited monk Peter Abelard and Jewish scholars.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of James Carroll Books

Leave a Reply