Jean Grainger is an author of historical Irish fiction. Her work has drawn comparisons to the great Maeve Binchy. She is proud of her home, a 200-plus year old stone cottage in rural County Cork, Ireland.

Before writing, Grainger worked as a tour guide in Ireland so she knows her way around the countryside and all of the best spots. She would later work as an English and History teacher in a boy’s secondary school. She loved those jobs, but the lure of writing was too strong and she eventually turned to writing fiction where she could spend her days in her pyjamas and writing stories.

Get notified when Jean Grainger releases a new book at

Publication Order of Carmel Sheehan Books

Letters of Freedom (2016)Description / Buy at
The Future's Not Ours To See (2017)Description / Buy at
What Will Be (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Conor O'Shea / The Tour Books

The Tour (2013)Description / Buy at
Safe at the Edge of the World (2017)Description / Buy at
The Story of Grenville King (2017)Description / Buy at
The Homecoming of Bubbles O'Leary (2018)Description / Buy at
Finding Billie Romano (2019)Description / Buy at
Kayla's Trick (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cullen's Celtic Cabaret Books

For All The World (2023)Description / Buy at
A Beautiful Ferocity (2023)Description / Buy at
Rivers of Wrath (2023)Description / Buy at
The Gem of Ireland's Crown (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Kilteegan Bridge Story Books

The Trouble With Secrets (2022)Description / Buy at
What Divides Us (2022)Description / Buy at
More Harm Than Good (2022)Description / Buy at
When Irish Eyes Are Lying (2023)Description / Buy at
A Silent Understanding (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Knocknashee Story Books

Publication Order of Mags Munroe Books

The Existential Worries of Mags Munroe (2022)Description / Buy at
Growing Wild In The Shade (2022)Description / Buy at
Each To Their Own (2023)Description / Buy at
Closer than you think (2024)Description / Buy at
Chancing Your Arm (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Queenstown Books

Last Port of Call (2021)Description / Buy at
The West's Awake (2021)Description / Buy at
The Harp and the Rose (2021)Description / Buy at
Roaring Liberty (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Robinswood Books

What Once Was True (2018)Description / Buy at
Return to Robinswood (2019)Description / Buy at
Trials and Tribulations (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Star and the Shamrock Books

The Star and the Shamrock (2019)Description / Buy at
The Emerald Horizon (2019)Description / Buy at
The Hard Way Home (2020)Description / Buy at
The World Starts Anew (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

So Much Owed (2013)Description / Buy at
Shadow of a Century (2015)Description / Buy at
Under Heaven's Shining Stars (2016)Description / Buy at
Sisters of the Southern Cross (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Catriona's War (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Darkest Hour(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jean Grainger Books, You’ll Love…

What Once Was True is the first book in the Robinswood Story Book series, that focuses on the Irish in World War II. Lord and Lady Kanefick live in a grand house with their adult children, but no longer have the money to keep such a large house and the property is starting to dwindle. The Murphy family live on the estate and do their best to keep things up, but there is only so much they can do. The families maintain their social structure, but the war has a way of messing things up and both families find themselves drawn into the conflict.

Another series by Grainger is The Tour and it is a first book in a series with the same name. Conor O’Shea is a tour guide who has given hundreds of tours in his life, but the one he is about to go on is going to be far different. Conor is taught to avoid conflict, but the passengers start uncovering truth and facing truths about themselves that change their lives. Conor will try to watch from the sidelines, but life might have different ideas.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jean Grainger Books

3 Responses to “Order of Jean Grainger Books”

  1. Brian Milliner: 3 years ago

    Hi Beverly
    Your best bet is to buy one of three devices:
    Kindle Reader
    and download the free app “Kindle eReader”. Buy the books from If you prefer paper, it’s time to change. Think of the trees. In the eReader you can change the text size to suit yourself. It takes a bit of time to adjust. I think you will also save on the purchase prices.
    I also like reading Jean’s books. Read the Shamrock series and am busy on the third book of the Queenstown series.


  2. Ms B J DOminy: 3 years ago

    I have read all of Jean Grainger’s Series. I like her writing style, her characters are well developed within the series.


  3. Beverly J.Rice: 3 years ago

    I’ve just finished all of the Tour series and now I’m on the last book of the shamrock series I just love the them all but I need them in large print.We are all going blind in my building where I live if I could get a list of MS Grainger’s books that are in large print you would make a bunch of old ladies very happy.You are awesome. Thank you your fan Beverly Rice.


Leave a Reply