Jean Marie Auel is an American novelist who is not known for her prolific quantity of books, but rather a very select number of quality novels known as the Earth’s Children series. Years before the books were published, Auel did a tremendous amount of research about the Ice Age in order to prepare for writing her prehistoric fiction series.

The Earth’s Children series consists of six books stretched out over more than thirty years. It started with The Clan of the Cave Bear in 1980 and concluded just recently in 2011 with The Land of Painted Caves. Below is the order of Jean M. Auel’s Earth’s Children series in order of when each book was released:

Get notified when Jean M. Auel releases a new book at

Publication Order of Earth's Children Books

The Clan of the Cave Bear (1980)Description / Buy at
The Valley of Horses (1982)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Hunters (1985)Description / Buy at
The Plains of Passage (1990)Description / Buy at
The Shelters of Stone (2002)Description / Buy at
The Land of Painted Caves (2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jean Auel Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jean M. Auel Books

One Response to “Order of Jean M. Auel Books”

  1. Evelyn: 5 years ago

    what is the last book Jean Auel wrote. I don’t want to duplicate my books.


Leave a Reply