Jeanne DuPrau
Jeanne DuPrau is an American author of fantasy and young adult novels. She is the author of the Books of Ember fantasy series. Jeanne never set out to become a writer, but has always enjoyed writing. She wrote her first book when she was five titled Frosty the Snowman, which is five pages long and illustrated in crayon. In her spare time, Jeanne enjoys ice skating, bird watching, gardening, playing piano and cooking.

Jeanne DuPrau became a published author in 1981 with Golden God. Below is a list of Jeanne DuPrau’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Jeanne DuPrau releases a new book at

Publication Order of Book of Ember Books

The City of Ember (2003)Description / Buy at
The People of Sparks (2004)Description / Buy at
The Prophet of Yonwood (2006)Description / Buy at
The Diamond of Darkhold (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Voyagers Books

Project Alpha (By: D.J. MacHale) (2015)Description / Buy at
Game of Flames (By: Robin Wasserman) (2015)Description / Buy at
Omega Rising (By: Patrick Carman) (2016)Description / Buy at
Voyagers: Infinity Riders (By: Kekla Magoon) (2016)Description / Buy at
Voyagers: Escape the Vortex (2016)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Element (By: Wendy Mass) (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Adoption: The Facts, Feelings and Issues of a Double Heritage (1981)Description / Buy at
The Apple IIgs Book (1987)Description / Buy at
The American Colonies (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lucent Overview Books

Drugs and Sports (By: Don Nardo) (1990)Description / Buy at
Population (By: Don Nardo) (1991)Description / Buy at
Eating Disorders (By: Don Nardo) (1991)Description / Buy at
Death Penalty (By: Don Nardo) (1992)Description / Buy at
Recycling (By: Don Nardo) (1992)Description / Buy at
The U.S. Congress (By: Don Nardo) (1994)Description / Buy at
The U.S. Presidency (By: Don Nardo) (1995)Description / Buy at
Censorship (By: Bradley Steffens) (1995)Description / Buy at
Teen Sexuality (By: Don Nardo) (1996)Description / Buy at
Women's Rights (By: Wendy Mass) (1998)Description / Buy at
Cloning (1999)Description / Buy at
Abortion (By: Allison Lassieur) (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Kidhaven Science Library Books

Germs (By: Don Nardo) (1991)Description / Buy at
Lasers (By: Stuart A. Kallen,P.M. Boekhoff) (2001)Description / Buy at
Cells (2001)Description / Buy at
Atoms (By: Don Nardo) (2001)Description / Buy at
Plate Tectonics (By: Linda George) (2002)Description / Buy at
Tornadoes (By: Stuart A. Kallen,P.M. Boekhoff) (2002)Description / Buy at
Space Travel (By: Don Nardo) (2003)Description / Buy at
Telescopes (By: Don Nardo) (2005)Description / Buy at
The Big Bang (By: Don Nardo) (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

What You Wish For: A Book for Darfur(2011)Description / Buy at
Brave New Love: 15 Dystopian Tales of Desire(2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: The City of Ember was adapted into graphic novel format by Dallas Middaugh. What You Wish For: A Book for Darfur contains contributions from several other authors.

If You Like Jeanne DuPrau Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jeanne DuPrau Books

One Response to “Order of Jeanne DuPrau Books”

  1. Roberta Braverman: 2 years ago

    As a teacher, I read, enjoyed, and shared the Ember series with many students. Now our ten year old granddaughter is enjoying your work so I reread the first two and loved them all over again. We have come to a dilemma. Her newer copies have the order of book 3 and 4 different from my original copies. Please advise. Are they sequenced differently? Which shall we read next?


Leave a Reply