Jefferson Bass is not one person, but rather a pen name used by the team of Jon Jefferson and Dr. Bill Bass. Together, they co-author The Body Farm series. They started working together on a non-fiction book called Death’s Acre, the success of which caused them to collaborate on a crime fiction series involving real-life forensics.

Their collaborations in fiction began in 2006 with Carved in Bone. Below is a list of the Jefferson Bass novels in order of when they were originally published, which is also their chronological order:

Get notified when Jefferson Bass releases a new book at

Publication Order of Body Farm Books

Carved in Bone (2006)Description / Buy at
Flesh and Bone (2007)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Bones (2008)Description / Buy at
Bones of Betrayal (2009)Description / Buy at
The Bone Thief (2010)Description / Buy at
The Bone Yard (2011)Description / Buy at
The Bones of Avignon / The Inquisitor's Key (2012)Description / Buy at
Cut to the Bone (2013)Description / Buy at
The Breaking Point (2015)Description / Buy at
Without Mercy (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Body Farm Short Stories/Novellas

Madonna and Corpse (2012)Description / Buy at
Jordan's Stormy Banks (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Death's Acre: Inside the Legendary Body Farm (2003)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Body Farm (2007)Description / Buy at
Identity Crisis (2015)Description / Buy at

Note: Inquistor’s Key was also published as The Bones of Avignon.

If You Like Jefferson Bass Books, You’ll Love…

Jefferson Bass Synopses: Carved in Bone is the first book in the Body Farm series from Jefferson Bass. Nestled within the University of Tennessee’s campus is a place like no other on Earth – the “Body Farm.” Here, human corpses are left to the elements, a macabre tableau where decay unfolds in the name of science and justice. The visionary behind this morbid experiment has shattered cold cases and revolutionized forensic science. Now, drawing inspiration from his own experiences, he weaves a gripping narrative in this riveting novel.

In the remote mountains of East Tennessee, a woman’s remains lie concealed within a cave, untouched for three decades. The cave’s unique chemistry has preserved her body as a near-perfect mummy, unveiling a startling secret that anthropologist Bill Brockton is destined to unravel. Brockton has spent his career surrounded by death and decomposition at the Body Farm, but the mysteries of this case, set within an otherworldly environment, confound even his seasoned expertise.

Cooke County, the surreal backdrop for this tale, is a secluded mountain enclave marked by insularity, deep-seated feuds, and an unwelcoming attitude towards outsiders. The discovery of the young woman’s body reopens old wounds and stirs up animosities spanning generations. The county’s formidable and obstructive sheriff, along with his bumbling deputy, stand as formidable obstacles to Brockton’s investigation. These challenges, however, are only the beginning.

Flesh and Bone by Jefferson Bass is book 2 in the Body Farm series. Dr. Bill Brockton, renowned for establishing the illustrious Body Farm, finds himself immersed in a troubling and complex case. The lifeless body of a young man is discovered, bearing signs of brutal violence, in the vicinity of Chattanooga. It falls to the astute Dr. Brockton to meticulously assemble the fragments of this intricate forensic puzzle. His involvement is at the behest of Jess Carter, a rising star among the state’s medical examiners.

Just as they are poised to unravel the enigma, events take a nightmarish turn. Dr. Brockton recreates the death scene in Chattanooga at the Body Farm, only to encounter a spine-chilling alteration: an additional corpse is surreptitiously introduced to the tableau. This audacious move confounds authorities, casts doubt on Brockton’s credibility, and thrusts his distinguished career and very life into jeopardy. The once-admired professor swiftly becomes a pariah, facing mounting accusations that he himself committed this heinous act.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jefferson Bass Books

One Response to “Order of Jefferson Bass Books”

  1. Jane: 4 months ago

    I live in east Tennessee. A friend of my sons told me about the body farm years ago. He was a student at UT. I thought he was kidding me. It was around Halloween. Then when Dr Bass’ book was published imagine my surprise! I’ve loved all the books!


Leave a Reply