Jennifer Donnelly is an American author of YA historical fiction and urban fantasy novels. She spent her childhood in New York State. She majored in English Literature and European History at the University of Rochester, and graduated magna cum laude with distinction in English Literature. She lives in the Hudson Valley in New York with her husband and daughter.

Jennifer Donnelly made her debut as a published author in 2002 with the picture book Humble Pie. Her first novel was The Tea Rose that same year. Her second novel, A Northern Light, won the Carnegie Medal and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. It was also named one of the best YA books of all time by Time Magazine.

Get notified when Jennifer Donnelly releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Tea Rose Books

Publication Order of Waterfire Saga Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Northern Light / A Gathering Light (2003)Description / Buy at
Revolution (2010)Description / Buy at
These Shallow Graves (2015)Description / Buy at
Beauty and the Beast: Lost in a Book (2017)Description / Buy at
Fatal Throne (2018)Description / Buy at
Stepsister (2019)Description / Buy at
Poisoned (2020)Description / Buy at
Beastly Beauty (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Notes: A Northern Light was also published as A Gathering Light (in the UK). Fatal Throne also includes contributions by M.T. Anderson, Candace Fleming, Stephanie Hemphill, Deborah Hopkinson, Linda Sue Park and Lisa Ann Sandell.

If You Like Jennifer Donnelly Books, You’ll Love…

Jennifer Donnelly Synopsis: A Northern Light is a standalone novel by Jennifer Donnelly. Sixteen-year-old Mattie Gokey has a word for everything, and big dreams but little hope of seeing them come true. She collects words, stores them up as a way of fending off the hard truths of her life, the truths that she can’t write down in stories. The fresh pain of her mother’s death. The burden of raising her sisters while her father struggles over his brokeback farm. The mad welter of feelings Mattie has for handsome but dull Royal Loomis, who says he wants to marry her. And the secret dreams that keep her going – visions of finishing high school, going to college in New York City, becoming a writer. Desperate for money, she takes a job at the Glenmore, where hotel guest Grace Brown entrusts her with the task of burning a secret bundle of letters. But when Grace’s drowned body is fished from Big Moose Lake, Mattie discovers that the letters could reveal the grim truth behind a murder.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jennifer Donnelly Books

Leave a Reply