Jennifer McMahon is an American author who is best known as the author of The Winter People and The One I Left Behind.

McMahon graduated from Goddard College in 1991 with a BA and then later headed to the Writing Program at Vermont College where she studied poetry for a year in the MFA program. McMahon would end up back in Vermont where she held multiple jobs including pizza delivery person, homeless shelter staff member, and counselor for adults and kids with mental illness; before quitting in 2000 to work full time on writing.

Get notified when Jennifer McMahon releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Promise Not to Tell (2007)Description / Buy at
Island of Lost Girls (2008)Description / Buy at
My Tiki Girl (2008)Description / Buy at
Dismantled (2009)Description / Buy at
Girl in the Woods (2009)Description / Buy at
Don't Breathe a Word (2011)Description / Buy at
The One I Left Behind (2013)Description / Buy at
The Winter People (2014)Description / Buy at
The Night Sister (2015)Description / Buy at
Burntown (2017)Description / Buy at
The Invited (2019)Description / Buy at
The Drowning Kind (2021)Description / Buy at
The Children on the Hill (2022)Description / Buy at
My Darling Girl (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dark Corners Books

Hannah-Beast (2018)Description / Buy at
The Sleep Tight Motel (By: Lisa Unger) (2018)Description / Buy at
There's a Giant Trapdoor Spider Under Your Bed (By: Edgar Cantero) (2018)Description / Buy at
Miao Dao (By: Joyce Carol Oates) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Tangled Woods (By: Emily Raboteau) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Remedy (By: Adam Haslett) (2018)Description / Buy at
Oak Avenue (By: Brandi Reeds) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Jennifer McMahon Books, You’ll Love…

The One I Left Behind: A Novel is one of Jennifer McMahon’s most popular books. The book tells us of the summer of 1985, the summer that changed Reggie’s life. She was an awkard girl, aged thirteen, in that summer who is finding her place among the school’s outcasts. During the same summer, a serial killer is haunting the town and leaving severed hands behind as trophies. Reggie is going through a lot this summer, but her whole world is rocked when her mother’s hand is found. No body ever appeared and the serial killer called Neptune stopped appearing. Twenty-five years later, Reggie is an architect who gets a disturbing call: her mother is alive.

Another popular book by McMahon is The Winter People. The town of West Hall, Vermont is one of those twos filled with legends and strange disappearances throughout its history. One of the most mysterious is from 1908 when Sara Harrison Shea was found dead in the field behind her house after the death of her daughter. In the present day, Ruthie lives in that same house with her mother and sister. History repeats itself when Ruthie’s mother disappears one day. Ruthie discovers Sara Harrison Shea’s diary and finds that history is repeating itself, but only she can stop it.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jennifer McMahon Books

Leave a Reply