Jenny Zhang is an American writer and poet. Her first collection of poetry was titled Dear Jenny, We Are All Find. She later released a short story collection called Sour Heart that was published by Lena Dunham’s Lenny imprint.

Zhang was born in Shanghai, China and then her family immigrated to New York City when she was just five years old. Her father studied linguistics, but pulled out to become a teacher. He would eventually re-enroll to study computer programming and moved the family to Long Island where he would open a computer repair business. Zhang would go on to study at Stanford University where she graduated with a BA in Comparative Studies in Race & Ethnicity. She would later go to the Iowa Writers’ Workshop where she received a Master of Fine Arts in fiction. In addition to her work as a poet, Zhang has written numerous essays for major publications such as Buzzfeed, Poetry Magazine, and Rookie.

Get notified when Jenny Zhang releases a new book at

Publication Order of Collections

Dear Jenny, We Are All Find (2012)Description / Buy at
The Selected Jenny Zhang (2015)Description / Buy at
Sour Heart (2017)Description / Buy at
My Baby First Birthday (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

March Sisters: On Life, Death, and Little Women (With: Carmen Maria Machado,Jane Smiley,Kate Bolick) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Iowa Review: Volume 41, Number 2(2011)Description / Buy at
PEN America Issue 21: Mythologies(2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Jenny Zhang Books, You’ll Love…

Dear Jenny, We Are All Find is Zhang’s first poetry collection. The poems are a sort of surrealist anxiety told with dizzying energy and intelligence. The poetry focuses on numerous topics in her life from familial to global.

Zhang’s short story collection is called Sour Heart: Stories. The book won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and was named on numerous best books of the year lists. The book tells numerous stories that cover generations and continents, throughout time itself. The book features seven stories narrated by the daughters of Chinese immigrants. The book explains an intimate rendering of girlhood in a darkly funny and intimate way. A great collection to read that covers what it means to belong to a family and to find your home in this world.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jenny Zhang Books

Leave a Reply