Jess Walter
Jess Walter is an American novelist and screenwriter. His work has been translated into over 20 languages. Walter’s essays, short stories and non-fiction work have been widely published in such publications as Details, Playboy, Newsweek, The Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, The Boston Globe and more. Jess lives with his wife Anne and children, Brooklyn, Ava and Alec in his childhood home of Spokane, Washington.

Jess Walter made his debut as a published author in 1995 with the non-fiction book Every Knee Shall Bow. His first novel, Over Tumbled Graves, was published in 2001. Below is a list of Jess Walter’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Jess Walter releases a new book at

Publication Order of Camden Books

Publication Order of Caroline Mabry Books

Over Tumbled Graves (2001)Description / Buy at
Land of the Blind (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The One Books

Before Her (By: Jacqueline Woodson) (2019)Description / Buy at
Parable (2019)Description / Buy at
Lila (By: Naima Coster) (2019)Description / Buy at
A Wedding Thing (By: Shea Serrano) (2019)Description / Buy at
Yes, And (By: Kristi Coulter) (2019)Description / Buy at
The Visitor (By: Dodai Stewart) (2019)Description / Buy at
Speed Grieving (By: Allison Ellis) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Warmer Collection Books

The Way the World Ends (2018)Description / Buy at
Boca Raton (By: Lauren Groff) (2018)Description / Buy at
Controller (By: Jesse Kellerman) (2018)Description / Buy at
There's No Place Like Home (By: Edan Lepucki) (2018)Description / Buy at
Falls the Shadow (By: Skip Horack) (2018)Description / Buy at
At the Bottom of New Lake (By: Sonya Larson) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Hillside (By: Jane Smiley) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Financial Lives of the Poets (2009)Description / Buy at
Beautiful Ruins (2012)Description / Buy at
The Cold Millions (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Town and Country (2020)Description / Buy at
The Angel of Rome (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

We Live in Water (2013)Description / Buy at
The Angel of Rome: And Other Stories (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Every Knee Shall Bow (1995)Description / Buy at
In Contempt (With: Christopher Darden) (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Our Mothers' Spirits: Great Writers on the Death of Mothers and the Grief of Men(1997)Description / Buy at
ESPN Quick Pitches: A Star-Studded Lineup of Original Sports Fiction(2011)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2012(2012)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2015(2015)Description / Buy at
McSweeney's #49(2017)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2017(2017)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery and Suspense 2022(2022)Description / Buy at

Notes: Every Knee Shall Bow was also published as Ruby Ridge. In Contempt was written with with Christopher Darden.

If You Like Jess Walter Books, You’ll Love…

Jess Walter Synopsis: Citizen Vince is the first Camden novel by Jess Walter. It’s one minute before 2 a.m. in Spokane – eight days prior to the presidential election of 1980. Vince Camden takes his collection of stolen credit cards to an all-night poker game before heading to his witness-protection job dusting crullers at the local doughnut shop. Along with a neurotic hooker girlfriend, this is the total sum of Vince’s new life. But when a familiar face shows up in town, Vince realizes his sordid past has never left him. During the next unforgettable week, he’ll negotiate a coast-to-coast maze of obsessive cops, eager politicians, and assorted mobsters – but will soon discover that redemption may exist, of all places, in the voting booth.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jess Walter Books

Leave a Reply