Jessica Fellowes is an English author of mystery and thriller novels as well as non-fiction books. She writes the Mitford Murders Mysteries series. Jessica is a New York Times bestselling author. She worked as deputy editor of Country Life magazine, and has written columns for several publications including The London Paper, Daily Telegraph, and more. She is the niece of actor/director/screenwriter/novelist Julian Fellowes.

Jessica Fellowes made her debut as a novelist in 2017 with The Mitford Murders. Below is a list of Jessica Fellowes’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Jessica Fellowes releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mitford Murders Books

The Mitford Murders (2017)Description / Buy at
Bright Young Dead (2018)Description / Buy at
The Mitford Scandal (2019)Description / Buy at
The Mitford Trial (2020)Description / Buy at
The Mitford Vanishing (2021)Description / Buy at
The Mitford Secret (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Best Friend (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The World of Downton Abbey Books

The World of Downton Abbey (2011)Description / Buy at
The Chronicles of Downton Abbey: A New Era (2012)Description / Buy at
A Year in the Life of Downton Abbey (2014)Description / Buy at
The Wit and Wisdom of Downton Abbey (2015)Description / Buy at
Downton Abbey: A Celebration: The Official Companion to All Six Seasons (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Jessica Fellowes Books, You’ll Love…

Jessica Fellowes Synopses: The Best Friend by Jessica Fellowes is a standalone novel. From childhood, Bella and Kate were the closest of best friends. Bella was the sensible and cautious one, while Kate was gregarious and just a little dangerous.

Yet in spite of their intimacy, their trust is fragile. Men came into their lives and things changed – a black seed was planted in the heart of their relationship. Over time, acts of both cruelty and love ferment until one shocking event tests them more than ever. Neither will escape unscathed.

The Mitford Murders by Jessica Fellowes is the first book in the Mitford Murders series. Set in 1920, Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her impoverished life in London.

Louisa’s salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nursemaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy, an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But then a nurse – Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake – is murdered on a train in broad daylight, and Louisa and Nancy find themselves in the sights of a murderer who will do anything to hide their secret…

Bright Young Dead by Jessica Fellowes is book 2 in the Mitford Murders Mystery series. The Bright Young Things are the rabble-rousing hedonists of the 1920s whose treasure hunts were a focus of the media. One such game takes place at the 18th birthday party of Pamela Mitford, but ends in tragedy as cruel, charismatic Adrian Curtis is pushed to his death from the church near the Mitford home.

The police quickly identify the killer as a maid, Dulcie. But Louisa Cannon, chaperone to the Mitford girls and a former criminal herself, believes Dulcie to be innocent, and sets out to clear the maid’s name.. during which time the real killer may be mere steps away.

The Mitford Scandal is book 3 in Jessica Fellowes’ Mitford Murders Mystery series. It is 1928, and following the death of a maid at a glamorous society party, fortune heir Bryan Guinness seizes life and proposes to eighteen-year-old Diana, considered to be most beautiful of the six Mitford sisters. The maid’s death is ruled an accident, and the newlyweds put it behind them to begin a whirlwind life zipping between London’s Mayfair, chic Paris and hedonistic Berlin. Accompanying Diana as her lady’s maid is Louisa Cannon, as well as a coterie of friends, family and hangers on, from Nancy Mitford to Evelyn Waugh. When a second victim is found in Paris in 1931, Louisa begins to see a connection to the death of the maid. Now she must convince the Mitford sisters that a murderer could be within their midst.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jessica Fellowes Books

Leave a Reply