Jill Churchill (Photo Credit: Isaac Alongi)
Jill Churchill is the pen name of Janice Young Brooks, an American author of cozy mystery and historical romance novels. She writes the Jane Jeffry and Grace & Favor series. Churchill attended the University of Kansas to earn her education degree, then went to the University of Missouri-Kansas City before working as a teacher for many years. She also worked as a book reviewer for the Kansas City Star. Jill is the winner of both the Agatha and Macavity awards. A mother of two and a grandmother, she enjoys gardening, needlepointing and playing gin.

Jill Churchill made her debut as a published novelist in 1975 with the novel Ozark Legacy, which she wrote under the pseudonym of Amanda Singer. She would then write under her real name of Janice Young Brooks, as well as under the pen name of Valerie Vayle (with Jean Brooks-Janowiak). She made her debut as Jill Churchill (as a cozy mystery author) in 1989 with the novel Grime and Punishment, beginning her Jane Jeffry series. Below is a list of Jill Churchill’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of Lady Of Fire Books

Publication Order of Jane Jeffry Books

Grime and Punishment (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Farewell to Yarns (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Quiche Before Dying (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Class Menagerie (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Knife to Remember (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
From Here to Paternity (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Silence of the Hams (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
War and Peas (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fear of Frying (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Merchant of Menace (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Groom with a View (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Mulch Ado About Nothing (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The House of Seven Mabels (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Bell, Book, and Scandal (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Midsummer Night's Scream (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Accidental Florist (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Grace & Favor Books

Anything Goes (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In the Still of the Night (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Someone to Watch Over Me (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love for Sale (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
It Had to Be You (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Who's Sorry Now? (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ozark Legacy (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
In Love's Own Time (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Forbidden Fires (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Seventrees (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Still the Mighty Waters (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Our lives, our fortunes (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Glory (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Season of Desire (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Crown Sable (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Cinnamon Wharf (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Guests of the Emperor (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Herron Heritage (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Bun Also Rises (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Kings and Queens: The Plantagenets of England (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Malice Domestic 5(1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: The Lady of Fire series was co-authored by Jean Brooks-Janowiak under the collective pen name of Valerie Vayle. Brooks-Janowiak (who, contrary to popular belief, is a different person from Churchill) would later obtain the legal rights to the Vayle pen name and continue writing the pen name.

The novels Forbidden Fires, In Love’s Own Time, Seventrees, Still the Mighty Waters, Our Lives, Our Fortunes, Glory, Season of Desire, The Circling Years, Crown Sable, Cinnamon Wharf, Guests of the Emperor and The Herron Heritage as well as the non-fiction book Kings and Queens: The Plantagenets of England were published under the name of Janice Young Brooks. The novel Ozark Legacy was written as Amanda Singer.

If You Like Jill Churchill Books, You’ll Love…

Jill Churchill Synopsis: In The Accidental Florist (book 16 in the Jane Jeffry series), Jane Jeffry and her detective for a boyfriend, Mel VanDyne, are finally getting married. Jane is busy planning her dream wedding – with no mother-in-law to stick her nose in – when Mel convinces her and best friend Shelley to take some self-defense classes for women. But before they can take any lessons, the class is cut short when two of the students are found murdered. Along with her time spent writing, adding onto her house and dealing with mothers-in-law, Jane has a full plate, but now she also has to help Mel catch a killer in order to have the true wedding of her dreams.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jill Churchill Books

Leave a Reply