Johan Theorin
Johan Theroin is a Swedish author of Scandinavian crime fiction . For his entire life, Johan has been a regular visitor to Oland and has enjoyed its various tales and folklore. His mother’s family hails from the island, all working as sailors, fisherman and farmers there. His novel Echoes from the Dead was named Best First Mystery Novel in 2007 by the Swedish Academy of Crime Writers. His second novel, The Darkest Room won the Best Swedish Crime Novel of 2008 award. Johan lives in Gothenburg, Sweden.

Johan Theroin made his debut as a novelist in his native language of Swedish with the novel Skumtimmen. The novel was translated and published in English the following year as Echoes from the Dead. Below is a list of Johan Theroin’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Johan Theorin releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Öland Quartet Books

Echoes from the Dead (2007)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Room (2008)Description / Buy at
The Quarry (2010)Description / Buy at
The Voices Beyond (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Darker Shade of Sweden(2013)Description / Buy at
Stockholm Noir(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Johan Theorin Books, You’ll Love…

Johan Theorin Synopsis: Echoes from the Dead by Johan Theorin is his debut novel and first in his Oland Quartet series. It’s September in the Swedish island of Oland and 6 year-old Jens Davidsson walked out and vanished into thin air in his very own foggy backyard. 20 years later, his mom Julia is drawn back to the spot by a package in the mail. Julia has only a few clues and a few people to question, but is able to make a connection to a famous local killing spree. Will Julia be able to find out the truth about what happened to her son Jens?

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Johan Theorin Books

Leave a Reply