John A. Connell is an American author of historical mystery novels. He writes the Mason Collins series. John is from Atlanta, where he got his BA in Anthropology. He has worked as a motion picture camera operator, a jazz pianist, a stock boy in a bra factory, a machinist, newspaper rack repairman, and a printing-press operator. John splits his time between the U.S. and France.

John A. Connell made his debut as a novelist in 2015 with the novel Ruins of War. The novel was nominated for a Barry Award. Below is a list of John A. Connell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when John A. Connell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Mason Collins Books

Madness in the Ruins / Ruins of War (2015)Description / Buy at
Spoils of Victory / Haven of Vipers (2016)Description / Buy at
Bones of the Innocent (2019)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Devil (2020)Description / Buy at
Where the Wicked Tread (2021)Description / Buy at
Upon A Bloodstained Land (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Good Night, Sweet Daddy-O (2020)Description / Buy at

Notes: Ruins of War was also published as Madness in the Ruins. Spoils of Victory was also published as Haven of Vipers.

If You Like John A. Connell Books, You’ll Love…

John A. Connell Synopsis: Ruins of War by John A. Connell is the first book in the Mason Collins series. In the winter of 1945, mere months after World War II, Munich is in ruins. Mason Collins – a former Chicago homicide detective, U.S. soldier, and prisoner of war – is now a U.S. Army criminal investigator in the American Zone of Occupation. It’s his job to enforce the law in a place where order has been obliterated. And his job just became much more dangerous. A killer is stalking the devastated city – one who has knowledge of human anatomy, enacts mysterious rituals with his prey, and seems to pick victims at random. Relying on his wits and instincts, Mason must venture to places where his own life is put at risk: from interrogation rooms with unrepentant Nazi war criminals to penetrating the U.S. Army’s own black market. What Mason isn’t aware of is that the killer he’s chasing is after him, too…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John A. Connell Books

Leave a Reply